Perhaps a Goodbye

A-Break

 

I need to sit down and take a blogging break.

What I haven’t yet decided is if that break will be temporary or permanent.

I have inhabited this space since February 2011 with twice weekly posts plus the Wise Words Sundays feature. What was previously a joy has transformed into a burden.

There are many reasons for this shift. One is the decrease in my photography output – it is difficult to write a photography blog without new images to provide inspiration. The second is my work for Nest. Originally a volunteer graphic designer, I am now a paid staff member working part-time on a range of projects. It is exciting and challenging work that I love but I now have less time for personal projects.

I could change my strict thrice-weekly posting commitment to a looser, “post-when-I-want” sort of schedule. But I work best with a regular routine, one where I establish my personal expectations and commit to deliverables. Having an open-ended arrangement would be a different kind of burden, one where I am constantly thinking about when to post next.

So for now, I have decided to go quiet for the month of April. Determine whether I feel relief or regret. Whether I feel my work here has run its course or whether I still have more to say. It is certainly possible that come May, I will be back.

Regardless of my final decision, my Wing-Feather Fable collaboration with Lisa Ahn will continue on her blog. Providing visual inspiration for Lisa’s marvelous imagination remains one of the highlights of my blogging career. Be sure to follow along.

I will continue to share images on Facebook (brenda.gottsabend), Flickr (bgottsab) and Instagram (@brenda_gottsabend) – including my 2015 Project 52: The Courthouse weekly project. I would be delighted if you follow along.

To my small but loyal group of regular followers – your support and positive encouragement has been a continuous source of joy. I can’t thank you enough.

I leave you with a final quote from a very wise man:

“Don’t cry because it’s over.
Smile because it happened.”

Dr. Seuss

 

 

 

 

Posted on March 31, 2015, in Blogging and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Love the quote. Glad to hear that you are getting paid for your awesome work. Xoxo

  2. suzettedesertskyblue

    When I began reading I started to panic that I might lose touch with you. I totally understand your thinking and so glad you’re the time to choose what’s best for you and your life. I can tell you though how relieved I was to read at the bottom of your post that you’ll still post on Flicker. I’ve come to consider you a friend and I would miss you.

    Take care and choose the right path for you…I know you’ll find peace there.

    Hugs,

    Suzette

  3. suzettedesertskyblue

    Ps. I love that yellow chair…fabulous image and perfect quote! 😊

  4. Brenda, I can’t help it, there’s a few tears in my eyes! I do understand that change does happen. If your blog is a burden, it is time to let it go. I will miss you here very much, but I’m thankful that I can still keep in touch through FB and Flickr!! You have given me an appreciation for the beauty of architecture; something I never really noticed before. Now, I do and I always think of you when I see interesting buildings. So glad we aren’t saying goodbye!

  5. I will follow you anywhere Brenda. Congratulations on your paid position and I admire your intentionality in this decision. All good things evolve.

  6. Brenda, I will miss your regular posts, but I do understand. I’m delighted to hear about your paid position with Nest! I know your work is a blessing to them. Your photographs over the past four years have taken my breath away so many times. You’ve inspired me and have become a special friend. Let’s not lose touch. As Kim said, I’ll follow you anywhere! (I’ve already sent a FB friend request!)

  7. And I echo the appreciation here for your wonderful gift of photography.

    I also understand that need for a break. Sometimes it is really hard to keep up the pace. So may you enjoy your time and find what your heart says you need to do. Glad we can keep in touch in other ways!

  8. catchingsundust

    Congratulations on your position at Nest! I understand exactly where you are….I am in a similar position having taken a position doing youth work, which I adore but which doesn’t leave room for much else – so much for my 2015 word (balance!). I will really miss your blog if you decide to stop, I have learnt so much from you and you are such a great source of inspiration but I will continue to follow along on instagram and flickr. Fabulous quote and I’m another one who’ll follow you anywhere! xx

  9. Enjoy your April! I have really enjoyed visiting your space here & seeing your amazing photos. I have appreciated your visits & comments to me as well. I understand your needing to take a break- being creative shouldn’t cause stress and it seems you have lots of platforms to continue your creative pursuits.
    Take care x

  10. Your title and photo said it all. I’ve been putting off writing this, not sure how to say Thank You for the blog, Thank You for your outstanding images, Thank You for your honesty.
    I completely understand and support your decision. A month off, and maybe an end to the blog, is OK. It is important to honor our journeys, which take us to new places.
    Congratulations on your job with Nest.
    I will continue to follow you on flickr.

  11. Adding to the chorus – here – of gratitude. Thank-you for being here….and for being such a wonderful online friend. I so understand where it is you’re coming from….as I’ve been there and am still there with you time and time again.

    Trust in the process. The right answers will come to you in the in between and silence. Looking forward to following you out and about and all around.

  12. Congrats on the paid work — it must be very satisfying. This post resonated with me because I’m in the same place…. I’ve been losing interest in blogging and has become a burden for me too. I’ve been wondering if I should stop, but I am reluctant to lose touch with my blogging friends. So, like you, I am going to take a break.
    Your photographic journey has been so interesting to follow and I’ve learned a lot from you. Thank you! You’ve helped me see things in new ways that I never would have discovered myself. We’ll be in touch on Flickr and Instagram. Wishing you the best, Brenda.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

