Up Close

BKG_23185
 
After almost a year with my Olympus PEN camera, I finally did it – I purchased another lens.

Since gear is not my thing, this was a risky move for me. I had never even changed a lens before. But one of the reasons I upgraded to the PEN was that it was an interchangeable lens camera. And while I didn’t know if I would ever take advantage of this new capability, I at least had the option.

The zoom lens that came with my camera is a 28-84mm (35mm equivalent). My new lens picks up where this one leaves off – an 80-300mm telephoto (35mm equivalent). Much of the reason for my desire to add this lens to my arsenal was driven by my Project 52 of the courthouse. Each week I was continually frustrated by images that I was unable to create because of the physical limitations of my equipment. I simply couldn’t get close enough.

So I jumped – and right now you will find my flailing and spluttering, splashing around in the deep end – almost drowning in all that I need to learn about these new optics and this new way of “up close” seeing.

I’ll let you know if and when I make it to shore.

 
BKG_23186
 
BKG_23181
 
BKG_23165

Posted on February 12, 2015, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I can definitely see why you would get good use of this lens for all of your architectural photography. Have fun with it.

  2. I think you are doing just fine! You will have fun with your new lens. Great images.

  3. You will do great! I look forward to watching along.

  4. Oh, have lots of fun with your new lens! I’m confident that you will do fine and that you will really enjoy what you can create.

  5. It doesn’t look like you’re flailing and sputtering to me, Brenda. There’s always a learning curve, be patient with yourself. I really like your first image with it’s strong diagonal lines.

  6. It is different, isn’t it? Congratulations on taking the plunge. It looks to me like you’re doing just fine. I think you’re going to love it!

  7. I know you’ll love being able to capture those far away details! Looks like you’re doing fine to me!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

