Mission Artistry

Mission Arches

 

I kept resisting, finding myriad excuses to avoid it.

Resisting the moment when I took the lessons from my Photoshop Artistry course and actually created something. When I got out of my head, out of the ins-and-outs of the software – and picked up my virtual paintbrush.

It was fear, plain and simple. Fear of failure, fear of imperfection, fear of the blank canvas.

Of course, the solution is simply to begin.  So I gathered together some of my favorite images from the San Antonio missions and started playing.

Applying textures to my images isn’t new. What is new are my attempts to meld multiple images together into a cohesive whole.

I am just halfway through the course – still learning, still experimenting.

The point is: I finally began.

 

Secret Passage

 

Texture Credits
Image 1: Kim Klassen – Autumn Burst and DT Textures – Blue Moon
plus Sebastian Michaels – Film Edge 5

Image 2: Pixel Dust – Vintage Craquelure and Vintage Vellum

 

 

 

 

Posted on February 3, 2015, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I enjoy finding the right pictures to superimpose with each other. I miss Bonnie’s photo art Friday – that always got me out of my box. These turned out really great!

  2. and it looks like a flying start! Love this image and how you’ve used the multiple images. So clever and so beautiful. Looking forward to seeing more of your creations.

  3. I’ve never tried combining images like this. It looks like fun. I love the archaeological look of the second one.

  4. Very artistic, Brenda. I’m glad you started!

  5. I don’t know why you were afraid of failing. These are stunning! Very lovely, indeed, Brenda.

  6. Beautiful. Photoshop Artistry is a wonderful course.

  7. Good for you and you’ve done a great job! I love all the arches mirroring the shape of the dome in the first one!

  8. Both of these are wonderful, Brenda!

  9. suzettedesertskyblue

    Love your creative process. Stunning images!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

