Desert Fire

BKG_23106
 
It was my first visit to a desert – a day tour of Nevada’s Valley of Fire State Park.

Nature did not disappoint.

We’ve all seen amazing photographs of red sandstone rock sculptures that dot the Western United States. But as with many things, there is nothing that can compare to seeing it in person.

It was awe-inspiring to witness the creative power of water and wind and time. Twisting and carving the rock into fantastical, unbelievable shapes. Such incredible beauty created through the deconstruction of rock.

An unforgettable experience in an unforgettable place.

 
BKG_23108
 
BKG_22765
 
BKG_23113
 
While all of the above were edited by me, it is possible that one or more of these images was taken by my husband – we spent the day trading off between my phone and the Olympus and I am hard-pressed to remember who took what. So he earns a co-producer title for this post.

Posted on January 22, 2015, in Mobile Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. There’s something so incredibly beautiful about the red rock . . . I think the color brings warmth to it. Great pics.

  2. Breathtaking! Such incredible beauty in rocks. I feel like I can just reach out and touch them through your images!

  3. Great shots! One has to in awe when viewing these landscapes. The colors are so amazing. I haven’t been back for many years, and need to return.

  4. Isn’t it an amazing place? I love your architectural treatment of these photographs. The contrast of red rocks and blue sky is so beautiful. It looks like you had a perfect day for photography.

  5. Your processing is exquisite. Most people make the rock way to orange in their images to my liking, but the tones of sky, cloud, and ground in these images balances the color so well. You have the same eye for this fabulous rock as you do for your architecture shots. The compositions are just stunning unlike a lot of what I’ve seen in the past. I love seeing this familiar landscape through you eyes!

  6. Can this be Brenda’s blog? Yes–outstanding processing and unusual shots of these fantastic formations. I’m behind in visiting my on-line photo friends. I’m catching up.

  7. These rocks look amazing!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

