The Best of 2014

2014-Jan-14
 

I wasn’t planning to do a 2014 “best of” retrospective so I’m a little late to this particular party.

The thought of going through all my images – comparing, selecting, answering the “this one, or that one?” question – seemed like too much effort. And assessing my own work is not one of my talents.

But inspired by many of you, I decided to do it in spite of my excuses. And like many things that we resist, I was glad I did.

2014 was the year of new cameras. The trading-in of my beloved Canon G11 for an Olympus PEN E-PL5 – a camera with interchangeable lens capability. Of which I have yet to take advantage. And the game-changing (for me) move into smartphone photography and the world of photo-editing apps.

There was travel – Columbus, Chicago,  the Berkshires of Massachusetts, San Antonio and Austin.  And weekend road trips, exploring my little part of Northeast Ohio, which yielded a treasure trove of new photography subjects.

So here are 10 of my favorites from the past year – all taken with the “big” camera. Oh, I definitely have my smartphone favorites but decided to give the Olympus a chance to shine. I’m guessing mobile photography will feature strongly in my 2015 “best of” review.
 

BKG_10136
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
 
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

Posted on January 6, 2015, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. These are wonderful. Hope your 2015 is a year of more creativity and photographic magic.

  2. I do like your choices here. I shall definitely pay more attention to the built environment. All the best in 2015.

  3. These are amazing. I LOVE that first one…the shapes, the colors, the texture. And the last…what an illusion! Only you could turn a glass high-rise into stair steps. I’m so looking forward to what you find and create in 2015.

  4. I’m so glad you did this exercise. Amazing how they are all buildings of some sort, yet each image is so completely unique and different.

  5. I love each and every one! Exquisite!

  6. Brenda, you have such a magnificent eye for architecture and angles and you really open my eyes to a different perspective. I really enjoy these photos, but I have to look a little harder for them.

  7. Wonderful picks! Can’t wait to see what you discover this year!

  8. Oh, I’m so glad you selected your “top 10″….all are wonderful, each in its own way. If I had to pick a favorite, it would be the third one, with the beautiful gold doors, lines, and great reflections of the traffic.

  9. Excellent selection. Don’t know how you made the choices. I continue to resist selecting my own favorites because of the reasons you mention.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

