Project 52

Courthouse

Stark County Courthouse Window

 

When I began this photographic journey, making images was an almost daily occurrence. I committed to multiple 365 projects – although I never completely succeeded in that quest. But the point was that photography was an integral part of my daily life.

Somewhere along the way, photography has transformed into a special occasion activity. Now I tend to shoot only on weekends, usually as part of a planned “photography road trip” to nearby points of interest. Some of my favorite images have resulted from these explorations and I plan to continue these photographic sojourns.

But as I look ahead to 2015, I am also launching a Project 52 – a weekly photography challenge. The rules? One photograph per week of a Canton icon – the Stark County Courthouse.  I am intrigued to work within these self-imposed limitations – finding 52 different ways to present this historic building and celebrate its beauty within the downtown landscape.

I am also a little scared to commit once again to a regular photography practice – here in public where I will be held accountable for my action or inaction. It is so much easier to stay inside during these winter days – am I willing to make the effort?

But I hope to bring some balance back to my photography – explorations of both the brand new and a deep study of the familiar.

What do you have on tap for the new year?

 

Posted on December 18, 2014, in Mobile Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Lovely window! I love your new project. I’m anxious to see your courthouse 52 times! I haven’t come up with anything for next year’s photography yet, but I need to. I finished a 365 in October and my camera has been pretty idle since then. I think I needed a rest, but I’m ready to start up again.

  2. I started a new 365 on December 1. It’s very casual, just using my phone camera to capture an image each day to put into a calendar app on the phone. I haven’t decided yet whether I will publish them or not. I like the idea of a once-a-week practice such as you’ve set yourself here. I do have something in mind, but I’m still pondering it and not quite ready for commitment! I’m looking forward to seeing the results of your project.

  3. What a great project, Brenda, and a wonderful start with this courthouse window. I think self-imposed limitations are great for creative possibilities to emerge.

  4. Super idea, Brenda! We will hold you to this commitment until you decide you don’t want to do it anymore. 😉 I finished a 365 project and decided I needed a break from the “pressure”.
    I haven’t made any decisions about next year, which is coming up quickly!

  5. I need to will myself into going out more during these winter months . . . I’ve definitely been stagnating recently.

  6. I think having a specific project is a great idea–it focuses us, gives us a specific goal, and stretches us. I look forward to your 52 project. You are off to a great start! This image is wonderful–includes a fanciful reflection, the window frames the reflection yet stands as its own subject.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

