Editing on the Fly

BKG_22430
 
One of the things I love about smartphone photography is the fact that I carry around an editing studio in my pocket.

As most of you know, post-processing has always been an integral part of my photography practice. Now I can do it anywhere, without being tied to my PC and monitor.

Modern travel is filled with downtime. But those long plane rides and airport wait times are now opportunities for playing with apps, finding new ways to express my photographic vision. I literally edited while at 30,000 feet – the hours flying by like minutes. Or in the hotel room at the end of a busy day of sightseeing.

Here are three examples of “editing on the fly” – from the San Antonio missions, the Orlando Airport terminal and the skyscrapers of Austin. What fun it is to create from start to finish, wherever I find myself.
 
BKG_22175
 
BKG_22187

Posted on December 11, 2014, in Mobile Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. What fun you’re having, with such great results! That first image, oh my…..you know how I love doors, Brenda. One open door leading to another and another – fabulous! I’m with you about using the “down time” to work on my photos. I spent several hours of a cross country flight organizing and editing photos. I finally had to stop when I started getting cross eyed!

  2. I love that first image too – the textures, light, and framing are wonderful, making me want to walk in through all those doors to see what lies beyond. Of course, you know what this means: We’re going to expect marvels from you no matter what else is going on in your life. You’ve proven you can produce them!

  3. All of these are beautiful, but my favorite is the first one. I’ve tried some of those smart phone apps for editing pics as well, and since I recently received a newer phone I have not taken the chance to get some of those apps again. This post is a good reminder! Love your photos and your artistic approach to all of it.

  4. Good point. Glad you are enjoying cell phone photography. I find working on a small screen difficult. I especially like the first image also.

  5. I just can’t seem to get to grips with my smart phone . . . . I love how you’ve embraced it and I’m so in love with that first image.

  6. Some day! Some day I want one of these phones! You have so much fun with yours!

  7. Beautifully done! I actually really love that too. I edit much more on my phone than my dslr photos!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

