Blue-sky Austin

BKG_22116
 
Austin: the capital of the great state of Texas.

It’s unofficial motto – “Keep Austin Weird!”

In the 18 months they have lived here, my son and his bride have enthusiastically embraced this city, creating a warm and lovely home from which to launch their married life. (That’s their apartment building on the left in the photo above.)

On this blue-sky Sunday morning, before a family brunch with the newlyweds, I set out to explore a tiny portion of the city they now call home.

Austin welcomed me with open arms.

(You can see additional Austin images in my Instagram feed – follow me at @brenda_gottsabend)

 

BKG_22139
 
BKG_22122
 
BKG_22110
 
BKG_22112

Posted on December 9, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. A whole new world is open for you to explore with your camera. I have been in Austin several times, but years ago. At that time I would not have appreciated the architecture, like I would now with a camera in my hands. So happy for you to have your kids settled in a lovely city and the opportunities you will have to explore when you visit. These are fantastic photos that you have shot on your moments away from family.

  2. I have always wanted to go to Austin. I hear it’s weird/good like Portland, Oregon. Until then, I’m sure I’ll get to see it through your eyes. Love the geometrics.

  3. I’ve never been to Austin. It looks like a beautiful city! A wonderful place for you to explore! I love the angles in the first one and the reflections in the forth!

  4. Never been there either . . . maybe some day. Looks like you’ve been having photographic fun, how’s the neck from all that looking up. 🙂

  5. I’ve always heard good things about Austin. Looks like you were in geometric heaven — that last image is my fave.

  6. Outstanding. Great shots. Austin is one of the best places to live in Texas, with the gorgeous Hill Country nearby. You have wonderful color and detail in these images–they shine.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

