On Finding What Works

PHC-November-2014
 
For this month’s Photo-Heart Connection, I expected to share with you a photo of my son’s wedding. Certainly, that event and all the surrounding festivities and celebration, was the emotional high-point of the past month.

I had good intentions to capture special wedding and reception moments. Since I now have a smartphone, I figured it would be easy to both be there in the moment and record it. But, as has been made clear to me in the past, that simply isn’t how my photographic practice works. I’m not wired to “see” in that type of fast-paced, emotionally-charged environment. For me, capturing people is a stress-filled act rather than a meditative one.

I keep having these conversations with myself – about how I need to broaden my skill-set and embrace additional subjects and ways of seeing. And I certainly want to stay open to all those possibilities. But at the same time, I want to celebrate what I am good at.

So rather than an image of the happy newlyweds – and they were so very happy – I give you my favorite Austin architecture image. This abstract celebration of reflections and geometry brings me a quiet joy. And a knowledge that I bring other talents to the photographic table through my own unique viewpoint.

The wedding I will hold forever in my heart – and in its own way, this image will always remind me of the bright joy of being in Austin for that once-in-lifetime event.

 

Linking with the November edition of the Photo-Heart Connection, hosted by Kat Sloma.

Posted on December 4, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. A staircase and a high-rise, all in one. Fabulous lines and colors. Clean. Clear. Shinning.
    Brenda at her best.
    I know what you mean about thinking you should expand your photographic skill-set, and your difficulty in photographing in a people-filled, active environment. One wants to expand as a photographer, but there are limitations.
    What a joy the wedding and related events must have been for you.

  2. I get super stressed when trying to take photos of people so I can relate. Love this image it has an infinity feel to it.

  3. Oh, I can so relate. The last wedding reception I attended, I didn’t take my iPhone or my camera. I realized that I was always disappointed with the photos and decided to just enjoy the evening. What I found so interesting in your post above was the words you used to describe this gorgeous architectural image – “celebration” and “quiet joy.” The inner experience of the wedding?

  4. I’m sure there were lots of cameras at the wedding. I’m glad you chose to be in the moment and capture the best of it in your heart and mind. Expanding your photographic skill set is a fine idea…IF you want to. But your gift – your skill set, if you will – is a rare one. You help the rest of us to see the beauty in cold metal and concrete, in the structures we take so for granted that we don’t even look at them.

  5. Well, Leon says it best!!! You do have a very unique skill that makes architecture shine! I love this image, so many lines and so much beauty! Congratulations on your new daughter-in-law!

  6. I get so frustrated when I try to photograph family events — I really don’t enjoy it.I missed a lot of a family reunion while I ran around trying to get pix of everyone. It’s so much easier to just participate and let someone else do the photography. You do have a unique eye which finds beauty in lines and patterns and helps us all see it too. I love this image!

  7. Amen to your self-talk. You are so good at your chosen photographic form. You bring interest, talent, and unique perspective to architecture photography in a way that continues to amaze me.

  8. Sometimes its definitely better just to do what works- people shots are hard (they move) and add a bit of low light and people getting in the way….
    This building is beautiful, you’ve captured it so well!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

