Changing my Perspective

Changing-Perspective
 
One of the hallmarks of my architectural photography is straight lines. Yes, I abhor the crooked and tilted.

But Photoshop has always been there for me with its multiple solutions for correcting perspective distortion.

Certainly, a tilted composition or the converging diagonals of a “looking up” composition can be utilized to great creative effect. But for me, such a tilt must be decisive – being “off” just a little bit in comparison to the picture plane is simply not acceptable. Even with an image such as this one – with a multitude of lines going off in many directions, there must be an anchoring vertical or horizontal.

However, the options for making these corrections within the Android app universe are severely limited, making my “go-to” shooting style and subject a great challenge for my “little camera”.

Oh, but then, I found it – an Android app (Photo Editor) which includes perspective distortion correction. I don’t get the precise control of my PC plus Photoshop, but I can fix the most obvious “off-kilter” lines within my smartphone images.

But I am also trying to turn this restriction into a creative nudge – thinking of new ways to capture the architecture I love without insistence upon straight lines.

I’m not there yet. But I’m trying.

Posted on October 9, 2014, in Mobile Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Wonderful line and color!

  2. I love the lines and colors in this, Brenda!

  3. I recently found an app for my iPhone that corrects perspective. It made me so happy! Sometimes (and some of) those tilted lines can add to the image, but many other times the distortion just made me wish I could fix it. Now I can!

  4. Sounds like you’re having alot of fun finding & playing with apps. I always love your lines.

  5. I’m with you about those straight lines. It seems I always hold my camera slightly tilted, even when I think I have it straight, so I’m glad I can fix that later in my computer! Love the lines in this one and the blue colors!

  6. I’m sure you must shudder when you see my crooked lines in some of my images, Brenda. I’m usually too rushed/lazy to try to fix them. Maybe I should look for this app. 🙂 I love all the intersecting lines in your photo.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

