Wing-Feather Fables: The Stone-bound

Today is fable day – how lucky we are to be beneficiaries of Lisa’s imagination. In this dystopian world, controlled by the Guardians, would you be one that remembers?
 
Fables-#42

 

They chose the former cable building because it was already wired for alarms. At first, the sirens howled every night, hours of screeching panic that shattered dreams and made a city of insomniacs. The noise was so hellish, so rending, that hospitals were deluged with fatal heart attacks. Babies born within those months have a peculiar tonal deafness. They are terrible musicians, prone to tics and schizophrenic mood disorders.

 

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

 

Posted on October 8, 2014, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Wonderful image for a story, whatever the story may be. I can see mystery in the center.
    (Brenda: I’ll be visiting my son and sister for the next few weeks and may not have time to visit your blog until the end of the month.)

  2. Wow! What an perfect image to go with the tale! When I first saw your image, I felt darkness and mystery in the portal. Then, I read the story. She’s an excellent writer, grips you from the first line and your an excellent photographer to collaborate with! Does she write the tale and then you find the image, or the other way around?

    • Cathy – I am a very, very lucky photographer to have Lisa as my partner. Our process is this – I send her a photograph (my part is the easy part) and she takes that image and somehow magically generates an amazing story from that inspiration. I have a very literal mind – so I am always amazed and delighted and humbled to discover where her imagination takes her.

    • Thanks so much Cathy. I am just seeing this now, sorry! I am always grateful and delighted to work with Brenda’s photographs. 🙂

I greatly appreciate your comments!

