Détente

Sept-16
 
I suppose it’s best not to argue with Mother Nature.

If you have followed me for any length of time, you know that nature and I have a complicated relationship when it comes to photographic subjects. Generally, I work to keep her out of my images – but in this series, she invited herself in.

And so, I decided to let her stay – adding organic texture to these scenes of downtown Pittsfield, MA.

A détente perhaps? We shall see.
 
Sept-16-B
 
Sept-16-C
 

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC 2014)

All the above images follow a similar processing formula.

  • Process Pioneer Woman Photography Boost action
  • Process my Midtone Contrast action to bring out the details
  • Add the 0312 Texture, blend mode = Multiply. Using a soft brush, paint with light gray on the mask to lessen the impact of the texture on the glass reflections

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

Sept-16-Layers-Palette Sept-16-Before
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kim Klassen {dot com}
Posted on September 16, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. There’s something really quirky about each of these – like nature is trying to peek into your photographs. I love it.

  2. These are wonderful, Brenda.
    I especially love the reflection in the first one.

  3. Hmmm, I think nature might be trying to tell you something here 🙂
    I especially love that first image and the reflection.

  4. I really like these, especially the first and the last. I like that interesting twisty-swirly reflection going on in the middle of that window and I love the contrast of the delicate, airy grasses against that heavy, solid building in the last one.

  5. I love these! I’m glad you’re letting a bit of nature show — it makes a good contrast in these images. This post was especially meaningful, as I spent my first five years of life in Pittsfield,Mass. I haven’t been back in many years, so it was fun to get a glimpse of it. The second photo, with its wonderful tilt, really grabs me.

  6. Love the bits of nature, as you know I love nature! Especially love the first one. The reflection is fascinating with all the swirls.

  7. Oh. My. Gosh! I have got to run…my 90-year old mom is coming for a visit and I’ve got to get her bed made, but I had to stop by to tell you how fabulous all of these are. I love the one on top the best. What fabulous color and detail. I also like the bits of nature included in each of the photos. So much depth is created by doing so and I believe the grasses, leaves, and branches anchor the image to the planet. So good!

  8. Love the whole series! beautifully done! Seen on Texture Tuesday.

  9. Love these photos, especially the curving reflections with flowing flowers. Nice juxtaposition of straight and curving.

  10. Detent is the perfect word for these images. I might have preferred the first one without the plants, but, you made it work with them. I wish we had more detent in the world of international politics. I especially like the last image–the grasses are a nice touch.

  11. beautiful reflections & I love the light on the grasses in the last image.

  12. Wow! Mother Nature was nice to you. I especially like the first photo with the reflection in the window. But, MN adds a great boost with the flowers.

  13. Another great series. I like the feeling of depth the greenery gives to each image. My fave? the middle one. I like the off-kilter angle of the photo and the canvas-y texture you used. Nice.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

