Gridlock Redux

BKG_20545
 
Another city in gridlock.

In the past 6 weeks, we visited Columbus, Chicago and Cleveland – three opportunities to study urban architecture from behind the lens.

And another chance to further explore geometric city grids – this time Chicago-style.

 
BKG_20447
 
BKG_20564
 
BKG_20500

Posted on July 29, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Such lovely reflections, beautiful photos

  2. How’s your neck? Beautiful Brenda.

  3. I love this gridlock series — all so different! I think you need to do a national tour of the big cities and then the book.

    • Wouldn’t that be something – touring all the big cities in the US, looking for grids? Perhaps I shall make this my long-term goal.

  4. It’s interesting how these buildings look so stiff and regimented with their gridlocked window walls. Yet the reflections are distorted and wavy, not a straight line to be seen. I have no point to make, I just enjoyed the observation and the way you capture this curiousness.

    • Lee,

      I think you have identified a big reason why I am so attracted to these images – that contrast of regimented and free-flowing. From a personality standpoint, I like things orderly and precise (just like the grids) but aspire to be more spontaneous and open (like those wavy reflections).

      But of course, it may be as simple as I like reflections. 🙂

  5. I feel like I want to just climb through those gridlocks into the crooked world! I need to go downtown, which I rarely do, and just photograph window reflections!!

  6. Very nice! I agree with seabluelee’s observation. I especially like the last image, for its complexity. What would happen if you flipped the 2nd one 180 degrees?

  7. Really fantastic reflections, Brenda!

  8. Amazing! I love them all, but the second one is my favorite. The warped reflections are great! I love all the geometric patters of course, but the details in the reflections are priceless!

  9. Wonderful images, especially the first one. I love the angle you have of the focal building and the puzzle of the structure it reflects.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

