Beneath the El

July-15
 

“You have traveled far,
but the hardest part of a journey
is always the next step.”

Jackie Morris

Where to go next – that is the question that keeps swirling around in my head.

What I want is to be ensnared by an overwhelming personal project – the kind that creatively overtakes you; one you can’t resist, its pull too great.

On a daily basis, I am staggered by the genius of my fellow photographers and their photography projects. And I keep waiting for something to call my name; to reach out and grab me in the same way.

In the meantime, there is always this – shadows and dancing light, under the El, in downtown Chicago.

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC 2014)

  • Process CoffeeShop Blog Pure BW action.
  • Add Chase texture. Desaturate. Set blend mode to Multiply
  • Add Scratched Magic texture. Set bland mode to Color Dodge
  • Move both texture images below the BW action group

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

July-15-Layers-Palette July-15-Before
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on July 15, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Hmmmm, it seems that if you put the question out there, something will appear. Or, maybe this blog, your images unique to Brenda, and your generous sharing of your thoughts and post-processing is your project.

  2. Thoughts from the Desktop

    Love love your image it looks so right in black and white..

  3. I rather wish I had a project or purpose for my photography, too. I’m taking photos every day but doing nothing with them. Your processing on this one really has a gritty, industrial feeling that fits the subject. But I have to say I like the original, too, with the contrast of the blue with that yellow-orange light. I love the spots of light on the pavement in both.

  4. This image reminds me of my time in Chicago, only some 40 years ago! I rode the El to work every day — I guess it hasn’t changed much.Your processing really accentuates the retro look and feel of it. I love the light shining through onto the street, and the all the strong lines. Have faith that your project will show up when you are ready for it.

  5. Perfectly framed and composed. I like seeing the original color image as it allows me to see that turning it into B&W brings out the graphic elements.

  6. I know exactly what you mean when you are hoping for a project to show itself! I think you do beautifully while you wait. I love this image- great shadows & light & lines 🙂

  7. This is great in B&W and your texturing is awesome. I should do more buildings instead of just flowers. Thanks for the reminder to do so.

  8. Wonderful photo. You could spend a life time under the EL and still find more shots to take.

  9. I’m in the same boat! I wanted a summer project, but it’s already half way to fall. I hope something comes your way soon! Love the shot and processing, but also love the colors and light on the original.

  10. I like the monochrome treatment you’ve given this image–the full-color image is beautiful, but the color almost distracts from the shapes and textures. I trust your next (sure-to-be-terrific) project will present itself in due course. I will be on the lookout for it…

I greatly appreciate your comments!

