Four Views

BKG_20387

 

I don’t know why I have such a difficult time accepting this lesson – the act of slowing down.

Time and time again, I recognize the positive results when I adopt this contemplative approach. And yet, each time I walk out with my camera, I settle back into my “hurry-up-and-get-to-the-next-shot” habit.

But the “take-one-shot-and-move-on” photographic philosophy tends to be counter-productive. I constantly look ahead to what is around the next corner, fearful of what I might be missing, instead of concentrating on the opportunities right in front of me.

When I walked into this open-air atrium, between two buildings in downtown Columbus, I knew I wanted to capture its many faces. I had to fight against my desire to keep moving and consciously hold myself still, searching for everything the scene could give me.

So here are four perspectives of a single spot – and another slowing-down lesson learned. One, I expect, I will continually struggle to master.

 

BKG_20394
 

BKG_20396
 

BKG_20392

Posted on July 10, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Now, that is a wonderful exercise, and your four excellent and very different shots show the benefits.

  2. Love these shots. What a great exercise, I should really do the same. Like you, I’m always worrying about what I might be missing.

  3. Great exercise, and it really paid off for you here, Brenda.
    Wonderful images!

  4. Good for you for trying to slow down! I have the same problem — I get too excited about a place and forget to stand still and just take it all in. These shots are great, really showing the different aspects of the atrium. My fave is the second one, with the wonderful diagonals! Hope to catch up with what you’ve been doing recently.

  5. There’s something about this slowing down for the viewer, too. As I got to the last shot, I noticed the columns on the left, and observed that these seem to be two different buildings from different eras connected by the overhead structure. When I scrolled back up for another look at the first photo, I saw that the columns were there, even more clearly, on the right side, but I hadn’t seen them at all. An interesting study in observation…both yours and mine!

  6. Wow! Such beauty in lines! I’m fascinated with the third one! This slowing down thing is hard for me too! After I snap the shutter a few times, upload them and look at them, I remember I was supposed to pause and breath and really look at the object before I photographed it! Wonder if this “slowing down” will ever become a habit!

  7. A great exercise, always good to be reminded to slow down!

  8. I’ve been trying to practice mindfulness, but I’m terrible at it! I’m always moving. We shall keep learning together? I love these shots.

  9. This is like a session of true confessions! I can understand that you might want to be around the corner and on to the next shot, but your portfolio also exhibits an exceptional combination of planning and patience. You are familiar with many of your subjects, having visited them on both good and bad days, and you make the best of them regardless of circumstances. Beyond that, you apply (and adapt) what you learn from previous experience to whatever comes next.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

