The Drum Circle Breakthrough

BKG_11273

 

For me, this is big – really big.

Photographs of people! Moving people – hands flying on their drums. The background replete with distracting elements. No one posing, each drummer caught up in the moment of playing.

The process was completely frustrating. I tried to recall everything I had read about candid street photography – what settings, what compositions, all the “how-to” instructions. I was, in equal measure, flustered and energized.

I wrestled with my self-consciousness and got up close – in front of the listening crowd – taking my place amongst the other photographers with their “big boy” cameras and lenses. Like I had every right to be there.

And I attempted to capture the collaborative energy of the drumming, its rhythmic pulse pounding, engulfing me in its overwhelming sound.

I don’t think I succeeded in capturing the energy of the experience – the images are somewhat static. But as something so completely outside my comfort zone, I am thrilled with these results. Another giddy photography moment.

 

BKG_11276
 

BKG_11280
 

BKG_11278

(All images processed with the Topaz Labs Simplify filter.)

Posted on June 19, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Wow, that’s so great, Brenda. I can feel your excitement. I must admit I was surprised when I saw the picture that came up, and think you did very well with your first dip into street photography.

  2. Way to go, Brenda! I love that you’re reaching out of your comfort zone… with beautiful results 🙂 Keep it up!!

  3. These are just fantastic, Brenda!!
    And I am glad that you are so excited about them too.
    Happy day to you! 🙂

  4. Congratulations for your courage and the results. When I clicked on today’s post, I thought I had the wrong site! You are, indeed, pushing beyond your comfort zone. I like the expression on the face of the front person in the second photo, and the composition of the third. Good job!

  5. Good for you, Brenda! (See? I told you you were brave!) I think the results you got prove that you had “every right to be there,” right up front with the serious cameras and (presumably) serious photographers. I hope you’ll continue to pursue this path some more, and let us see where it takes you.

  6. Wow! These are amazing “people” photos! You are certainly brave!

  7. These images convey such strength and presence, as if you’ve captured the architecture of a moment, of the drummers, of their passion. Brava!

  8. great job! I love these, particularly the top 2. Well done!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

