A Lesson in Subtlety

June-17

 

Today I’m keeping it subtle.

As has been readily apparent over the past few weeks , my normal texture application philosophy is “more is more”. I want to know that a texture has been applied and understand the impact on the image.

But today, I’m adopting the “less is more” approach – adding soft colors and just a hint of added grain to the stonework.

Perhaps there is something to be said for a more delicate approach.

(My favorite thing about this image? The face-like reflection in the lower half of the window – a surprise that made me smile.)

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Adobe Photoshop CC)

  • Process the Pioneer Woman Photography Dim the Lights action, set opacity to 62%
  • Run my Midtone Contrast action to bring out the details and texture
  • Add the Cherish texture, blend mode = Linear Burn
  • Add a Levels adjustment to increase overall contrast, especially in the highlights
  • Add a Color Lookup adjustment, with the 3DLUT File parameter set to “Soft Warming” to tone down the yellows and add a rose tint to the image

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

June-17-Before June-17-Layers-Palette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

 

Posted on June 17, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. That face was the first thing I noticed, and it made me smile, too. I like this subtle touch of texture that enhances the stonework. Such interesting reflections — must be multi-paned glass, plus maybe vertical blinds in the windows? Fascinating patterns.

  2. I love it when I discover happy surprises in my photos. Lovely work, here. I think going lighter on the textures worked well for you here. Your processing strengthened an already strong image. It made the various details stand out and unified the color, so as to accentuate the designs. I especially like the reflections.
    I, too, have been experimenting with my use of textures. I tend to use them at full or high strength. It depends on the image how much opacity and which blend mode to use. So much to learn. 🙂

  3. I noticed the “face” before I even read the post. This is a great one, Brenda.

  4. It’s good to change things up now and again. Beautifully done and that face made me smile.

  5. I saw the face very quickly after I “oohed and awed” over those window reflections. I love how they seem to be shaking!

  6. Fantastic reflection. The face just makes it even more interesting. I assume it is waves in the glass of the window that gives the reflection such neat curves on the images in the reflection. Great.

  7. Love this, beautiful reflections and texture work.

  8. so cool – you have a great eye!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

