Free to Fail

June-10

 

After my less-than-successful texture attempt last week, I was slightly hesitant about sharing another experiment.

But then, what is this space other than a safe haven for trial and error; for attempting new things – even when they fall flat? Thank you for your input and feedback – I appreciate your comments.

“There is no failure.
Only feedback.”

Robert G. Allen  

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Adobe Photoshop CC) 

This week I played with the Simplify plug-in from Topaz Labs – taking advantage of their 30-day free trial option. Simplify ” is an easy way to create one-of-a-kind art from your photos and offers photographers a wide range of options for creative expression.”

  • Copy background layer and process through Topaz Simplify plug-in to create a painted look
  • Using Adobe Paper Texture Pro extension, apply the Flypaper Metallic Ice texture with blend mode set to Multiply. Desaturate. Add a levels adjustment to increase contrast, especially in the highlights. Group these layers and set the opacity of the group to 49%.
  • Add the 99 texture and desaturate. Set the blend mode to Multiply.
  • Add a Levels adjustment to increase overall contrast, especially in the highlights.
  • Using the Adobe Paper Texture Pro extension, apply the French Kiss Glorious Grunge Letter 2 texture, blend mode = Multiply and opacity = 34%

Below is the original image and the Photoshop Layers Palette:

June-10-Before June-10-Layers-Palette

 

 

 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on June 10, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Oh, I liked last week’s! And I like this one too. I have just photographed a load of old letters and copper plate script with a view to using them as textures but I am a bit stumped about what to do with them. I always find scripted textures trickier to use. I like it here, it looks like the building is telling a story. Please keep experimenting…you are inspiring me to do the same. That quote is fantastic. 🙂

  2. Brenda, this is a great quote. You are a brave soul to publish your “experiments,” and I hope you’ll continue to do so. As Becs said, you inspire us to try new things, too. I’ve had little success with adding textures to my own photos, and usually write them off as failures without seeking the feedback of others. (I guess I’m providing my own feedback when I do that.)

    I’m fascinated by this building and find myself studying the architecture, wondering why the window was built slightly off-center. Those towers at the top (chimneys?) make me think of gargoyles, with those projections that look like eyes. It’s clearly bursting with stories to tell — just see the words pouring out of it!

  3. Loved your post- I’m an experimenter too (I bought Simplify and have a lot of fun with it). I don’t always publish my experiments, but I keep going. Fascinating building- love what you did with it! And great quote too!

  4. This is wonderful, and yes please always share – we learn from each other!

  5. A fascinating image! The building is amazing. I like what you did with it. The texture brings unity. Your use of Simplify was just perfect.

  6. What was wrong with last week’s???
    This one is wonderful!

  7. This is great, love the quote too

  8. This works beautifully. Don’t hesitate to share your experiments.

  9. I like last week’s experiment and I like this one, too! Keep experimenting and sharing!

  10. What a lovely building, especially the unusual cranberry tone of the brick. I like the painterly treatment you applied to the image–the softened light and texturing seems to place the building in its own time more than in the present.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

