I Feel Giddy

PHC-May-2014

 

It is a simple case of lens flare – the sun and lens optics conspiring together to create a starburst of light.

And yet, as I look at this image, I feel a childish delight; a kick-up-my-heels kind of giddiness, a feeling completely out of proportion to the quality of this image.

Silly, I know. It isn’t as if lens flare is a totally new concept for me. I have my share of such images in my archive. But none with this extreme starburst effect – a function of my new camera’s ability to stop down to a much narrower aperture than was available to me in the past.

For me, this image bears witness to my growth as I struggle to master new equipment and new photographic concepts. Evidence that my Olympus PEN and I are reaching an understanding – perhaps even on our way to a solid partnership.  That this decision to upgrade was the right one at the right time in my creative journey. That the frustrations and failures and “I-forgot-to-change-the-settings” photographs are all necessary steps to the mini-triumphs like this one.

I’m sure you understand – that you all have remembered giddy moments marking your own mastery and growth.

It feel good, doesn’t it?

 

Linking with the May edition of the Photo-Heart Connection, hosted by Kat Sloma

+++

On Tuesday, I recommended a tutorial by Mark Johnson. I didn’t realize that the upgrade to his site involved converting to a subscription-only plan. If you are interested in learning more about Adobe Paper Textures Pro, check out this link from Adobe.

Posted on June 5, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Yes! These giddy moments come sprinkled between moments of frustration…but kind of like baby steps they help me know that I’m finally learning how to use this computerized amazing camera. Celebrating with you!

  2. That’s a gorgeous flare! It took me a couple of years to really feel comfortable with my new camera — the learning curve is full of ups and downs. Giddy is a great word to describe the ups! Congrats!

  3. Love your lens flare. I’ve been known to add them digitally when they don’t happen in my camera.

  4. Congratulations! You are correct–it does feel wonderful when we finally are able to take artistic advantage of our new equipment. You did a great job. I like lens flares!

  5. This lens flare is fantastic, Brenda.
    I am glad that you and your new camera are becoming good friends. 🙂

  6. I love this!! Black and whites are favorites. And I can totally relate to this feeling! My photography journey is hit or miss/trial and error….so when I get it – it still surprises even me! Visiting from PHC.

  7. That really is quite a spectacular lens flare. Glad to hear that you and your new camera are working things out. 🙂

  8. Yes I can relate to this feeling too, I have been known to punch the air shouting “Yes!” Most unlike me really! Your lens flare is fabulous, a great PHC,.

  9. It’s almost as if you earned a “star” on a school paper! Nice one!

  10. That’s a fabulous flare! I feel like I’ve been so lazy lately – about 3/4 of my photos have been taken with my iPhone. I can’t wait to get settled and get back to learning and using my real camera more. I’m glad you’re getting more comfortable with yours. I know you’ll be taking us to some great places with it!

  11. Fabulous lens flare! Those giddy moments reflect the joy you find in your photography, hope they keep coming.

  12. Wow! What a wonderful flare!! It was certainly one of those “YES” moments! So glad your camera is becoming more comfortable! I don’t think I’ll ever learn to always check the camera settings first!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

