It’s a Conundrum

Conundrum
 
I thought a new camera would change things. That my photography would evolve – influenced by different optics and challenged by unfamiliar equipment.

I understand that it is still me behind this new lens; still me pushing the shutter button.

But I always wondered how much of my “style” was dictated by the technical limitations of my equipment. It isn’t so much that I want to change as expand.

For example, even though I can now throw the background out-of-focus, I can’t quite figure out how to use this in my images. For so long, except in Macro mode, shallow depth of field was outside the technical capabilities of my camera. As a result, I trained myself to see in other ways; to look for different ways to visually express myself.

And while those past technical restrictions strengthened the way I DO see – and for that I am grateful – I’m finding it difficult to see in new ways.

It’s as if I still reside within the narrow box of the old constraints, taking the same images, composed in the same ways.

And I ask myself – how much of that is my unique “me-ness” and how much is my fear of learning new ways?

It IS a conundrum.

I’ll let you know.

Posted on May 22, 2014, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I remember upgrading my camera . . . there’s always a period of transition that feels uncomfortable especially when we expand our capabilities. You’ve taken the first step, breathe and discover . . . there’s no timetable to stick to. Remember that the fun is in the journey not the destination (although I’m a right one to talk). When I first started using my macro lens I remember being frustrated that my images were blurry and I couldn’t get the shots I wanted. I don’t know what happened but eventually something clicked and now it’s one of my favorite lenses to use. Have fun and play. Your uniqueness is you fear just a temporary travelling companion. 🙂

  2. I have no doubt you’ll figure it out, Brenda. Part of it may be that you’re still in the transition phase, learning your new camera. Part of it is that you have a unique style, which I would say does not easily lend itself to shallow depth of field (not to say that it can’t).

    My suggestion would be to give yourself a project – for a week, a month, whatever – maybe shoot a completely different subject (flowers for example) or shoot only with shallow depth of field. Constraints are good for creativity.

  3. Welll, Kim Manley Ort beat me to it, because I was going to say and suggest almost exactly the same things. I’m sure your photography will evolve through your expanded capabilities. I also think your “unique me-ness” is going to shine through no matter what tools you are using. For myself, I find that my “style” (though not as distinctive as yours) is still pretty much the same whether I’m using my dSLR or my iPhone camera.

  4. Conundrum is such a great word. I agree with the others — give yourself time and you will evolve as you get to know your camera better. I think the idea of a special project is a good one. I found on-line classes were helpful because I got specific assignments to try new things. Have fun!

  5. It seems you understand the situation quite well. I will be interested in what you discover.
    I like the lines and composition of this image. The tower or chimney on the left is just right, as is the little cloud.

  6. Just as you trained yourself to see for your previous camera, you will do the same with this one, and I’ll just bet it will be a wonderful journey!

  7. So many good tips in these comments here. I purchased a new camera in December and am still learning what it can do, so I can testify to those words of advice to give yourself time. It really does take a while to get comfortable with a new one. It can be overwhelming, too. Some days i try to just concentrate on one new feature of the camera. Working with the flash was a fun one.

    I’m confident that your unique and beautiful style will be enhanced as time goes on!

  8. I don’t think there’s anything I can add to the great comments above. I have a big camera and a small point & shoot and I’ve found I use them pretty much equally, I find I still take better macro images with the P&S even though I have a macro lens for my big camera. It just fits me. It takes so much time to learn something different and be comfortable with it.

  9. I think I missed the post where you decided on a new camera. I think that’s really exciting- I’m sure you’ll continue with your own artistic vision & work out how your new camera can add more to that. Enjoy it!

  10. Wow, I seem very behind in my blog reading! A new camera, how exciting! I won’t repeat what everyone else has ‘said – except to say I think they’re right. You and your camera will find a new pattern. 🙂 Out of interest, which camera did you go for?

  11. It’s hard for me to imagine you being afraid of anything to do with photography. You are one of the most creatively daring people I know. I suspect you will eventually find your way with this new camera because I doubt you will be satisfied until you have explored (and mastered) all of your new camera’s features and capabilities.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

