A Pain in the Neck

BKG_11006

 

With my fondness for architecture, it is no secret that one of my “go-to” shooting styles is “looking up”.

Capturing the soaring heights of an indoor atrium or the majesty of a city skyscraper makes my heart sing.

And my neck ache.

(There was that afternoon in NYC when we had to return to the hotel and rest – my neck and back simply couldn’t take it anymore. And I was so very disappointed, thinking about all the photographs I was missing.)

Here’s to keeping the lens pointed skyward – and all the magic (and somtimes pain) that it brings.

What we will do for the love of our art.

 

BKG_10996

 

BKG_11016

 

BKG_11001

 

(More looking up studies here and here and here)

 

 

 

 

Posted on May 15, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Seeing what you see by looking up saves my neck! I so appreciate that.

  2. Beautiful “pain” and b&w.
    Really noice architectural shots.

  3. These are marvelous! Love them. I’m glad you continue looking up. I’m also heartened to know I’m not the only one who has to rest after a photography outing.

  4. Oh…I so know that feeling. But then – somehow – the results are always worth it. Wonderful abstracts – :-)!

  5. I’ll net it does wreak havoc on your neck after a while, but you always come away with really amazing images, Brenda.

  6. Beautiful looking up shots, the lines & patters look so good in B&W

  7. Photography really does wreak havoc on the body. My hand often hurts from holding the weight of a heavy camera with an equally heavy macro lens attached and I often get photographer eye or squint eye as I call it! Not to mention the back strain from all the bending over to get a low POV. Love your shots and appreciate what you do for your art, hopefully a break allows your neck to recover.

  8. I’ve thought about your neck many times! Photography really is a workout! Love how you captured this beautiful building. My favorite is the third one…all those wavy lines!!

  9. Unlike Cathy above, I must admit I never considered the wear-and-tear your architectural studies causes. I’m glad you realize your limits and rest when necessary. The results, however, speak for themselves. I especially like the last shot–it’s like the “inside out” of some your pie-wedge images.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

