Around the Corner

Apr-22
 

It’s simple really.

You reach the end of the corridor and turn the corner, heading in a different direction.

But is it really that simple?

You don’t know what awaits you around that bend. It’s scary to head into the unknown. Are you ready? Do you have the tools you need? What if you get lost and can’t find your way?

You can choose to turn around and go back the way you came. You can choose to stand still.

Or you can choose to move ahead, round the corner and see what awaits.

What will you choose?

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Process Pioneer Woman Photography Boost Action
  • Add the 99 texture, blend mode = Hard Light
  • Add a Levels adjustment, to increase overall contrast, especially in the shadows
  • Add a Color Lookup Adjustment with the 3DLUT File value set to “Foggy Night” in order to tone the image. Set opacity to 73%

Below is the original image and Photoshop layers palette:

Apr-22-Layers-Palette Apr-22-Before
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on April 22, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful image that is open to many interpretations. Love your take on making choices – what’s just around the corner. Photography really pushes me to grow and take chances. Same for you?

  2. Your picture is awsome and I love the texture work!

  3. Oh Brenda, you always inspire me. I love everything about this perspectives, the treatment, and your beautiful words. Thank you.

  4. I love this image — very cool processing, Brenda! I’m ready to see what’s around the corner, let’s go!

  5. I wondered if the wall textures were on the wall or in a texture you used. The explanation of your workflow answered my question. I like how you turned this into a mostly monochromatic image.
    I usually don’t know what I’m going to do at the end of the corridor until I get there.

  6. Oh, around the corner for sure…maybe after a brief pause to look out the window.

  7. Love the grunginess of this image, and the questions you pose.

  8. Always – to move forwards and look beyond and around the corner. Love the metaphors. Love your image processing!

  9. Positively fantastic, Brenda!

  10. I’m a nothing ventured, nothing gained kind of gal…I say, go for it!

  11. that is a corner that I wouldn’t mind standing still in!

  12. Wonderful corner. I am eager to turn the corner and see what’s there. Beautifully done.

  13. Love this! Wonderful image to start with and then the texture you added is perfect!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

