Perfectly Imperfect

Apr-15

 

Dear Perfection,

You and I have a long-standing relationship – I have spent much of my life striving to catch you but you skitter away, always just out of reach.

I wish I could tell you that I was done with this dance. Ready to accept my “perfectly imperfect” self, with all its beautiful flaws and quirks and foibles. Each day, I’m getting closer – letting go of that need to be perfect; loosening my grip on the “shoulds”.

So, just a head’s up – you might want to have an exit plan in place. Ready for that day when I turn around and walk away.

Sincerely,

Me

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Duplicate background layer and set the blend mode to Soft Light to increase overall contrast and saturation
  • Add the Confidence texture. Destaturate. Set blend mode to Overlay
  • Add the Serendipity texture. Desaturate. Set blend mode to Multiply
  • Add a levels adjustment to increase overall contrast, especially in the highlights

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

Apr-15-Layers-Palette Apr-15-Before

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

 

Posted on April 15, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Brenda, I love your letter to perfection, just love! And your image, it’s perfect! 🙂

  2. Your letter is so appropriate for the theme, and your processing of the image is great as always. As for the image itself…I don’t know why I’m so disturbed by vandalism (which includes graffiti, in my mind). It makes me sad that people seem to have such an urge to destroy things. I suppose it’s part of the “imperfection” of humankind, but makes it hard for me to hold on to the “beauty” part of it. You, on the other hand, see the beauty and make it visible to others.

  3. I love your letter, Brenda, and this photograph is absolutely magnificent!!

  4. This photo makes me feel sad. Your words make me smile.

  5. Hello Brenda! Came here via Kim Klassen’s site and read your letter – it could have been written by me. Looking forward to exploring more of your blog & images…..

  6. Fantastic image you have taken … the simplicity of it is so lovely. Thank you for sharing your editing looks very interesting.

  7. What a fascinating old building you captured! Accepting the perfectly imperfect world around us, including the people we love and ourselves, is difficult but possible…..sometimes I’m almost there.

  8. Fantastic wall and window. Wonderful photo.

  9. I love the theme this week for Texture Tuesday! I need all the encouragement I can get to let go of perfection in my photography. Beautiful image to express your words!

  10. Love this letter, I think it’s interesting because I’m not a perfectionist & sometimes feel like I should do a bit more chasing! Love your image too-perfectly imperfect.

  11. Like many other of your readers, I am so glad that you have the gift to see beauty in objects and scenes that others of us might dismiss. And, of course, I also enjoy the thought that goes into your posts, explaining the personal meaning of each photo–your letter to perfection is wonderful.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

