Art in Black and White

BKG_10277
 
It is no secret that one of my favorite local buildings is the Akron Art Museum.

With its soaring glass and steel atrium sheltering the aluminum-clad interior, it is a treasure trove of architectural and abstract images, one that has been featured many times in this space.

And it never fails to deliver something new.

Usually, I am drawn to the magnificent aquamarine of the reflected sky and the streams of colored light that refract through the glass ceiling.

Today I bring you those same forms in black and white – giving the starring role to the architectural structure of this magnificent building.
 
BKG_10268
BKG_10260

Posted on April 10, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. It is truly art what you create from building architecture. And, stunning in black and white.

  2. Gorgeous, I love the last two. Something so atmospherical about black and white.

  3. Wow! Great architectural images. The last one really grabbed my attention, with the light coming in from below. This art museum was just made for you, Brenda!

  4. B&W is very effective for these images. I especially like the first one, with the intricate lines, angles and shapes.

  5. I love the last one – such beautiful tones.

  6. Love these in black & white

  7. You might think this building is a gift to you, but I think you and your photography are an equal gift to the structure.

  8. I love how there can be so much richness in the apparent simplicity of black and white. And, I agree with Wanda. You and your photography are absolutely a gift to the structure. Oh, my gosh, Brenda, your eye always knocks my socks off!!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

