For the Love of Monuments

Apr-8

 

I am a huge proponent of photographing the familiar – finding new ways to explore the routine. But sometimes you need the inspiration afforded by framing something new.

In 2012, I discovered “Wiki Loves Monuments” – a month-long international photo contest for monuments, organized by Wikimedia volunteers. In the US, qualifying photographic subjects are locations listed on the National Register of Historic Places – similar lists exist for other countries. During that September, over 350,000 images of historic buildings, monuments and cultural heritage sites in 35 countries were uploaded to Wikimedia Commons.

What I discovered is this: the National Register is a wonderful resource for identifying intriguing photographic opportunities. If you are interested in researching your own community, Wikipedia maintains lists by state and county.

I didn’t know the above building existed until I found it in the register – even though I grew up only a few miles from its location. I was able to further my “hometown tourist” goal while challenging myself with a unique architectural wonder. And then by uploading the image to Wikimedia, I assisted in the effort to document these historic places. All for the love of monuments.

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

Apr-8-Layers-Palettte Apr-8-Before
 
 

 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on April 8, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. What a helpful idea, Brenda. Thank you.

  2. Great resource, thank you for sharing. Love your processing.

  3. This is definitely different from the buildings you usually photograph. What a great discovery! Thanks for the tip on Wikipedia/media and their lists of historic monuments. I’m going to check it out. I’m sure we have some good ones around here.

  4. Beautiful texture work- and thanks for the resource!

  5. So nicely done, Brenda!

  6. Cool! I didn’t know that – i’ll need to check out monuments in my area, thanks! Lovely image too – really like the blurred and aged look of your image.

  7. First let me say, very cool building, and what an awesome website….I’m off to explore! Thank you Brenda! xo

  8. I had no idea there was such an excellent source for historic sites. I’ve looked at it for my area. Thank you.

  9. Thank you for showing this Wiki. What a find.

  10. Oooh…I like how the texture transforms a modern image into something more aged and in keeping with the building itself.

    Thank you for reminding me about the list of national historic place. I’m going to make it a point to research National Register locations along our route of travel when we visit North Dakota over the summer. Who knows what I might find?

I greatly appreciate your comments!

