Lady in Red

Mar-18
 
Certain windows have an air of melancholy – like this single opening in a broad expanse of scarlet brick.

There is no clear view into the interior. No lights, no movement – the space within: abandoned and forgotten.

But add a mysterious woman – with her thoughtful and solemn gaze – and another story emerges. Who is she? What is she doing there, behind that glass?

Sometimes we have to create our own story.

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)Mar-18-Layers-Palette

  • Run my Midtone Contrast action to bring out the texture in the brick
  • Add the Stained Linen texture, blend mode = Multiply
  • Add a Color Lookup adjustment, with the 3DLUT File set to “Futuristic Bleak” to tone down the red brick
  • Add a levels adjustment to increase the overall contrast, especially in the highlights
  • Add the woman image (from the Stage Beauties CD Collection), transforming to fit the window area. Add a mask, painting over the window crossbar and any of the image that goes beyond the window area
  • Add a Levels adjustment, clipped to the woman layer, increasing the highlights. Group this adjustment with the woman layer
  • Add the Scratched Magic texture, blend mode = Difference, opacity = 50%
  • To add a subtle vignette, process the Pioneer Woman Photography Quick Edge Burn action, reducing opacity to 50%

Below are the images used to create this composite:

D55Mar-18-Before
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on March 18, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Really cool, love the feel of this and looks like a lot of fun to create.

  2. I would never have thought of combining a current photo with a vintage image such as this. It’s wonderfully creative and beautiful.

  3. You are such a creative photographer! I find it interesting that you like stories to go along with your photos. That is something my mind doesn’t think of doing.
    I’m wondering why you chose to make the woman so large in the window since a real woman would be smaller.

  4. I think this is incredibly powerful and could see your friend writing a story from the image. What a difference between the before and after. So evocative.

  5. This is a creative way to use a window frame as picture frame. Like Anita, I wondered why you didn’t put an image more to scale into the window. But the effect is definitely more surreal this way, and open to many interpretations. Since we don’t know her story, we can each make up our own.

    • Anita and Lee – its funny. Until you pointed it out, I didn’t even think about proper perspective of the woman to the window when creating this piece. Part of that is because it was easier this way. Otherwise, I would have had to extract the woman from her background and I didn’t feel like doing that. And I liked the way she peeked over the cross bar of the frame. And while I wasn’t really thinking about it consciously – I like the “Alice in Wonderland” feeling that is the result – like she drank the potion that made her too big. I guess it goes to show that one’s creative process is not always clear-cut. Thanks for your comments – it pointed out something that I wasn’t even aware of.

  6. Love it! Looks like someone looking out of a dollhouse. Thanks for sharing the process.

  7. Love your editing, you’re so good at it. The addition of the woman does create a sense of story.

  8. Truly a work of art, Brenda.
    I really love this one.

  9. Beautifully done. I love the fine tracery of the old vines on the bricks.

  10. Very creative! I love how you combine the images!

  11. I’ll admit it–I gasped when I saw this image. It is wonderful! Like previous commenters, I wondered about the scale of the woman to the window, but I liked the result because it emphasizes her eyes in a remarkable way.

  12. Very alluring! I like how the bricks look almost as if they have spider webs on them.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

