Into the Past

Mar-4
 
Digging into the archives this week – back to a hot summer day playing tourist at Hale Farm and Village – an outdoor living history museum, made up of dozens of historic structures and heritage gardens.

I walked the grounds, peeking inside log cabins and stately brick homes, trying to imagine what life was really like for mid-nineteenth century settlers of the Western Reserve. Wondering how I would have fared in those living conditions, where so much of daily life was taken up with simple survival. It makes one very grateful for the conveniences of modern life – and the opportunities for personal expression we have as a result.

+++

At the time I processed these photographs, I was still enamored with the hard light blend mode. This processing combination results in a faded, timeless quality – so appropriate for this subject matter.

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

Below is the original image and the Photoshop Layers Palette:

Mar-4-Layers-Palette Mar-4-Before
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
And here are a few more images from that day – processed in the same way – for your viewing pleasure.

BKG_9153 BKG_9131
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on March 4, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Brenda, I have not seen this process technique used on old log homes before and I really LOVE it! I have several photos of log cabins that I would now like to try this on. Thank you for sharing your process. These are all fabulous!

  2. Love the processing on this old log building. It makes me feel like I’m been drawn deep into the past!

  3. I love poking around old, abandoned structures. I always wonder about the people who lived there and what sort of lives they led. I adore this shot! And thank you for sharing your tutorial.

  4. Lovely. The processing really does add tot hat old time ambiance.

  5. It is fun to wander back in time, especially with your camera! Your processing really accentuates the wonderful lines and textures and gives your images that lovely vintage look.
    Beautifully done!

  6. Absolutely love these edits.

  7. I love how you processed this image! Lovely!

  8. Wonderful textured effects….and simply fantastic to be transported to summer (I’ve almost forgotten what it looks like!)

  9. what a wonderful effect this creates. so dreamy.

  10. I really love these, Brenda, especially the window.
    Just perfect.
    Happy day to you!

  11. These edits do seem to take me back in time. lovely.

  12. Lovely processing.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

