Literal Light

Feb-18

 

It’s true – I have a very literal mind. When the weekly theme is “light”, I give you an actual light.

I often wish I had a mind that moved in metaphoric or poetic ways; that recognized the hidden meanings or messages behind the exterior reality. But that kind of thought does not come easy for me.

I am attracted to the surface of things – the way this curving, intertwined design is echoed in the scalloped-detail of the lamp and the partially-seen arch. The linear elements of the awning stripes and the brick.

In this treatment, I like the way the toning and texture removes the distraction of color, giving priority to the elements of shape and line and the way they interact.

Light, in the very literal sense. The way I see the world.

+++

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Process the Pioneer Woman Photography Heartland action
  • Process the  Pioneer Woman Photography Quick Edge Burn action. Change the color from black to white and the blend mode to Screen to add a soft white vignette.
  • Add the 0312 Texture, desaturate, blend mode = Linear Burn
  • Add the Savor Texture, blend mode = Soft Light and opacity = 50%
  • Add a Levels Adjustment to increase overall contrast
  • Add the Pin it Only 4 Texture, blend mode = Hard Light and opacity = 50%

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

Feb-18-Before Feb-18-Layers-Palette
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on February 18, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Cool! I love the aged look of your image and the texture too!

  2. There are so many ways to ‘see’ things. I love that we’re all different and bring different things to the table for what you see I don’t yet I get the pleasure of seeing through your eyes.

  3. And this is what makes life and people so fun, “seeing” things differently – I love it – you have captured this light so very beautifully!

  4. Fantastic composition, Brenda, and the tones and texture are really wonderful.

  5. It is interesting that you think of yourself as being very literal-minded, when I don’t find your treatment of your usual subjects to be literal at all. But whether you see them as metaphoric or poetical, I’ll bet many of your viewers do! In any case, your interpretations are unique and quite simply beautiful.

  6. Well, I think literal light is a very creative response. And, I don’t see you as a just on the surface type person either. You’re amazing and I’ve learned so much from you.

  7. Love this image and love to see the ‘before’ version 🙂

  8. Beautifully done! It reminds me of something printed in an old newspaper!

  9. Your eye has the ability to see the design without being distracted by the colors. And though the design may be on the surface, it has shadows and depth, as do you.

  10. Wonderfully vintage appeal! The image takes me to another time. Beautifully done!

  11. Beautiful work, Brenda! I love the muted tones and textures, creating a lovely retro feel to your image. I enjoy seeing the world through your eyes.

  12. Brenda, please don’t worry overmuch about what you aren’t. From my perspective, you are a treasure in your own right. The things you see (that others of us miss), the way you perceive and capture the things you see, the magic you add in post-processing, etc., are all uniquely you.

    As Dr. Seuss says, “Today you are you! That is truer than true! There is no one alive who is you-er than you!”

I greatly appreciate your comments!

