Shadow Casting

Feb-11

“You don’t have to be a ‘person of influence’ to be influential.
In fact, the most influential people in my life
are probably not even aware of the things they’ve taught me.”
Scott Adams

As citizens of this cyberworld, we release our words and images, in bits and pixels, outward into the ether, perhaps never knowing the positive impact we may have upon others. We may feel the work we do is tiny and small – yet the shadow we cast is often much larger than we can imagine.

We share little pieces of ourselves and the way we see the world. And we hope to make a connection – no matter how slender – with others who do the same.

Today it is this creative community to which I pay tribute. For all the things you have taught me through your example – your struggles and your triumphs. For your support and encouragement and enthusiasm for my work – I can’t tell you how much your feedback means to me.

It is a kind of love, this connection we share. Our love of photography; for capturing beauty and amazement within the frame – and for sharing that love, here in these spaces.

+++

 Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Process my mid-tone contrast action to bring out the texture of the brickwork
  • Add the Stained Linen texture, blend mode = Multiply
  • Add a Layers Adjustment to increase overall contrast, especially in the highlights

Below are the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

Feb-11-Before Feb-11-Layers-Palette
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on February 11, 2014, in Photoshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. So beautiful written Brenda! Such rich colors and tones in the finished piece – truly artful!

  2. Beautiful image and words. It is a kind and supportive community of photographers. Thankful for you.

  3. Gorgeous image – amazing shadow. And I love your words too – and return the tribute to you. 🙂

  4. Lovely image! I love that shadow. I like your post and quote too!

  5. Beautiful words, and this shadow is fantastic!

  6. I concur with your sentiments, so well expressed, about the wonderful benefits of being part of a creative community. And your image has such beautiful tones and textures.

  7. I love how you’ve expressed this. My husband and I were talking about the very thing just the other night but you give it true voice.

  8. You’re making me teary-eyed! I do so love our community of on-line photography friends. You will never know how much your blog, photos, and your comments on my blog mean to me; how much they’ve inspired and encouraged me! Beautiful image and beautifully written!

  9. I could say the same as Cathy, word for word. And I love this image, and that beautiful curvy shadow. I always enjoy seeing your “before” and reading about your processing. You make it sound so simple, but it does so much to bring out the full potential of the photograph.

  10. Beautiful shades of red! Wonderful, different sized rectangles. The curves of the lamp and shadow are a nice contrast.
    I, too, appreciate the on-line community of photographers who nurture me.

  11. Great eye!! And – I too – appreciate the sharing and inspiration that goes on here. Wonderful!

  12. What a cool shadow, beautifully captured!

  13. …”for sharing love in these spaces,” YES!! I love the image, the geometry, the lines, the shadow the triangle, how it all moves me through and around it!

  14. And you, my friend, have cast a larger shadow than you likely think is possible. Your work is stellar and as good a model for an aspiring photographer/blogger/writer as I can imagine. I’m always glad of an excuse to stop by to see what you’ve been up to…it’s always inspirational.

  15. Beautifully done…

  16. serialphotographer

    You have a great eye for this type of image, I love this

  17. I love the stretch of that shadow.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

