Wise Words Sunday

“Photography should not be about
taking photographs;
it should be about being taken by them.”

Vincent Versace, “From Oz to Kansas”

(An image from the archives – the Akron Art Museum, reflecting blues skies and green grass)

Posted on January 26, 2014, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. How did I miss this wonderful image? Graceful. That one surface that is greenish works perfectly to create balance. Love the curving downward line from upper left to the right.

  2. I am taken by the grace, strength, and soft hues of this image. Another amazing capture!

  3. . . . being taken by them. Love that. Cool capture.

  4. Fascinating lines, curves, colors and reflections, but what a strange bit of architecture! I’m assuming this is a building, not a sculpture – It somehow looks very large-scale to me. I wonder what it looks like from the inside.

  5. Taken by this. Love the colours and the curves. Beautiful capture, Brenda. Beautiful!

  6. What a great quote, Brenda! And this image is amazing — the reflections and lines are so appealing to me. I assume it’s a building….can you tell us more about it?

  7. Thanks for sharing us as part of your “Wise Words Sunday”! The building was designed by Coop Himmelb(l)au and opened in July 2007. You can learn more about our architecture at http://akronartmuseum.org/architecture/.

  8. Oh my! What amazing color and light. I also love the reflections on the glass from other buildings…especially the reflection in the lower right hand corner. Those reflections seem to ground the image for me. The quote is fabulous and is a perfect comment on your work…so many people are taken by the images you show us. As I’ve said before, you have me looking at things in a new way!

  9. Wow! This is truly some amazing architecture, Brenda.
    I’ve never seen anything quite like it.

  10. I’m always taken by your view of architecture, light, shadows and reflections. This is the perfect example. Amazing shot and reflections!

  11. Imagine all of the people, in their every day lives, walking right by this amazing sculpture of reflections…beauty above their heads. But your trained eye caught every nuance.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

