Catching the Curve


 

One of my holiday gifts was a book entitled “A Photographer’s Guide to Ohio” by Ian Adams. The book is filled with dozens of photographic opportunities in my home state – like the Frank Gehry-designed Peter B. Lewis building on the Case Western Reserve University campus in Cleveland.

These stainless steel, undulating curves are Gehry’s architectural trademark.  While I may never have the opportunity to shoot the Walt Disney Concert Hall in downtown Los Angeles or the Guggenheim Museum in Bilbao, Spain, on this sunny winter afternoon, I was transported by Gehry’s artistry and this opportunity to capture it, so close to home.

Continuing my goal to be a “local tourist”, I look forward to working my way through Adams’ book, seeking out unknown Ohio treasures on which I can turn my lens.

I encourage you to see if a similar book exists for your home state or town. You never know what surprises are out there, waiting for you to explore.

 

 

 

Posted on January 23, 2014, in Photography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Every image is stunning. I think my favorite is the first one however. I love the light filtering into the image and reflecting off the metal tile edges. The colors of sky blue and golden sun are magical and appear perfect together in the undulating steel. I’m off to look for a guide to Dallas and Fort Worth. :o)

  2. Oh, the curves, the curves (and the light too). Stunning images, Brenda, and a great idea to find local treasures to photograph.

  3. Beautiful curves and light. Sounds like a great book. Look forward to seeing more of your local adventures. 🙂

  4. Fantastic photos! Wow! Beautiful color, light, composition, curves, textures. I’m particularly fond on the 1st and 3rd images–love those curves and colors.
    What a great idea that book is. I have something similar–“Wild Pennsylvania”– features beautiful photographs of natural beauty all over the state.

  5. I can see why you enjoyed this. Your images are all just perfect, making me want to check this out and see what else our state has to offer!

  6. Stunning. Stunning. And, Stunning.

  7. These are wonderful! My favorite is the last one. These make me think of marvelous creatures, metal scaled and feathered. I too want to be a “local tourist” and to that end have begun reading a wonderful history of this area, taking notes of places I’d like to photograph if they still exist. Unbelievably, on the first spread of the first chapter was a turn-of-the-century photo of THIS HOUSE — the one I’m living in right now!

  8. Beautiful building and of course, you photographed it beautifully! I like the idea of being a tourist in your own area, there’s so much we overlook because it’s familiar!

  9. Wow, what a great idea, I really love thew photos that you’ve taken -great lines & curves & shine.

  10. These are fantastic, Brenda!!

  11. Wowee, zowee! These are gorgeous, Brenda! You’ve really captured the beautiful curves. I attended a concert in Disney Hall and loved the building, very intimate with wonderful acoustics. I didn’t have a camera with me to take any photos — (sigh). How great that you’ve discovered a guidebook to gems in your state.

  12. What stunning abstractions. The shapes and colors and forms..and the way they jump off the screen at you. AWESOME!!!

  13. I will have to search around for something similar for the Tampa (FL) area, but we are extending our family reunion trip this year to explore some of North Dakota, my home state. We plan to visit and photograph the places where my parents were born and lived. Some of those places are ghost towns; others are experiencing a resurgence due to new oil extraction techniques. Either way, I’m looking forward to a few days on my old stomping grounds…

  14. serialphotographer

    Love it

I greatly appreciate your comments!

