Stop Sign

“The funny thing about stop signs
is that they’re also start signs.”

Maureen Johnson

Apparently, the creative universe is speaking to me in signs. First a “One Way” sign and now this.

But I really do like this thought – that a stop sign is also a start sign. That each ending is also a new beginning.

Appropriate for this last month of the year – as we reflect on 2013 and look ahead to the new year.

What will you start in 2014?

Posted on December 12, 2013, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I thought the same thing when I saw your sign, it’s amazing how that small red sign is definitely the focal point in this beautiful winter scene. And your thoughts on stopping and starting are right on, especially at this time of year.

  2. In the grandeur of that wintery landscape, amongst the majesty of those trees, one small but commanding sign. And, what a metaphor that is. That a small ‘stop’ sign can bring us to a halt, even in the midst of so much that is good and beautiful. So, glad you noticed and quoted that it is also a ‘start’ sign. What a world of difference that makes!

  3. HI Brenda…I had to laugh,”what will I start in the New Year?” My reply: “everything I never did in the old one!!!” Great image and message….I know a few people who would enjoy mulling this over….they are quite ill which is definitely a STOP, but at some point they will START their recovery. It is just a matter of how long we are holding still at the stopping point.

    Wow you have snow! It is gorgeous. Wonder what will be your next sign?

  4. I love this stop sign- what a great pop of red & it looks so tiny aginst the huge snow covered trees.

  5. I like this image so much, and its message — stop and start. I haven’t even thought about 2014 yet – yikes!

  6. Oh, how I love that little spot of red in that landscape of black and white. I need to start thinking about 2014, too. I’ve been so busy sorting out this year that I haven’t really thought past the holidays.

  7. Each ending a new beginning. Hmmm. Love that applied to this photo. I like the row of trees with the wires across.

  8. Where do you get your quotes??!! (That was a rhetorical question.) This quote is perfect. (I’m not so keen on the power lines in this image.)

  1. Pingback: Kim Manley Ort | Photography | A December of Simplicity | Kim Manley Ort

  2. Pingback: Kim Manley Ort | Photography | A December of Simplicity

I greatly appreciate your comments!

