Window Peeping

 

Some of my favorite images have been created by peeping into windows.

Even though my peeping occurs only in public spaces, it still feels somewhat illicit –  and, I must admit, rather thrilling – to peek inside empty places. There is that extra frission of excitement that comes from doing something that feels slightly forbidden.

I have learned that the magic only occurs by getting close, by committing to it 100%. Getting right up to the glass with my lens – it’s that closeness that creates the mysterious “in-and-out” combination that is the window peeping trademark. Simply walking by the window isn’t enough – you can’t judge the possibilities or discover the revelations behind the glass from a distance.

No, peeping is up-close-and-personal.

Many times, the act of peeping reveals nothing of interest – but oh, when it does – you feel like you’ve hit the photographic jackpot.

Are you a window peeper?

(You can find additional window peeping examples here and here.)

Posted on December 5, 2013, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. I most definitely am, and for some reason, it’s this time of year that is my favorite for doing it.

    Love the tones in this image!

  2. Yes, I am too, but don’t think I get close enough. I will take your advice. This is a wonderful, mysterious image.

  3. I am, but my peeping tends toward old, decrepit, falling-down houses. Love this image and your processing of it that adds to its mysterious nature.

  4. Lovley reflections & shine! I’m not really much of a peeper 🙂

  5. I guess I’m not much of a peeper, but I’m sure going to start looking for opportunities to peek! Love the light, it’s gorgeous!

  6. I’m a walk-by window peeper, which means, no photos. The light in this image makes me want to try peeping in closer.

  7. Beautifully done! I haven’t been bold enough to try this, but this image and the earlier links you shared certainly make it an appealing idea. As always, you’ve managed a bit of magic here.

  8. “I have learned that the magic only occurs by getting close, by committing to it 100%.” I believe this is SO true, and yet somehow I still struggle against it, that full commitment to a story. Sometimes, it’s like I am dragging myself to the view.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

