The Stock Exchange

 

In Lower Manhattan, camera-toting tourists surround the famous Wall Street Charging Bull statue, waiting their turn to take a photograph of this icon of the American financial system.  

Same thing with the façade of the New York Stock Exchange building with its triangular pediment, Corinthian columns and shiny gold lettering.

I chose something smaller and less intimidating as my Wall Street symbol – an arched doorway off to the side of the grand portico. Not as flashy or imposing or as well-known but symbolic nonetheless.

My vision of Wall Street.

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Add the Serendipity texture, blend mode = Multiply
  • Add a Levels adjustment to increase overall contrast, especially in the highlights

Below are the original image and layers palette:

Layers-Palette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

 

Posted on November 12, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Beautiful view of Wall Street. Love the architecture and how you’ve it enhanced with your texture use.
    (By the way, I’m very much looking forward to seeing your selfies!)

  2. Gorgeous capture and love the processing!!

  3. A lovely Picture … Your editing is just wonderful, thank you for sharing the process!

  4. Your processing brings out the richness and wonderful detail of the architecture — beautifully done!

  5. Ah, your new website is working well. I hope you are happy with your new “home.”
    As for NYStock Exchange, I surely wouldn’t want to work there, but viewing its beautiful architecture is a treat for the eyes!

  6. Excellent. This is pure Brenda. I like the smaller doorway, with its details and beauty.

    I am now following you at your new site. I completely understand the need to economize. I hope this works out well for you.

  7. It almost feels like there is an abstract painting in the arch above the door…wonderful!

  8. Beautiful image! I find that sometimes the non-tourist shot means more to me. I focus more on the details that way! Love your processing on this!

  9. Love the architecture you’ve captured, and the processing, texture, all is nicely done!

  10. I love this photo and how your texture processing enhances the architecture!

  11. I think I like both the edited and the original version of your photo. Very nice.

  12. Still quite an a maxing piece of architecture, lovely detail

I greatly appreciate your comments!

