Best-Laid Plans

 

Today is our last day in New York City.


Sitting here, writing this in advance, I am hoping that I took to heart the words of David duChemin in his blog post, “Awake Enough” :

“Willing enough to risk, to play, to stop looking so damn hard for what we expect and instead open ourselves to the surprises around the corner and the moments unexpected.”

Here’s to hoping that I didn’t sacrifice the moments in service to “the plan”. (And I definitely love a good plan.)

That I stayed open to whatever came.

But most of all, what I hope is that I took the time to celebrate this milestone birthday with my partner, best friend and love of my life.

 

Posted on October 31, 2013, in Photography and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Beautiful work, but once again…for me anyway, your words are so wonderful. I love the quote and your words about your “best friend and love of [your] life” are tender and sweet.

    Safe travels!

  2. Wonderful image, with its tilted point of view and all the sky around the buildings! The quote is such a good reminder : I’m a planner too, so I know how hard it can be to just let go and see what happens.

  3. Great image and beautiful, beautiful words. Hope you had a fabulous trip. 🙂

  4. I think the fact that you have thought about all this bodes well. Hope it’s been a wonderful relaxed & spontaneous time 🙂

  5. I am so glad you had a great time, Brenda!
    Love the wonderful softness in this photograph.

  6. Beautiful tones in this image. The bottom part is Brenda-esc, the top part not so much–I’m not used to seeing you tilt buildings. But then, NY buildings are a special case. I hope you had a wonderful celebration.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

