On Being Different

Oct-15

“Please yourself, not others…
It must first work for you
if it is ever to be useful to others.

 Paul Laseau

Many of you have commented on this new direction – on how different this work is from my usual fare. Let me start off by saying how much I appreciate your kind words. That you take the time, not only to view my work but to express your opinion, is so very gratifying.

To me, though, these pieces feel like a natural progression, the next step. Not so much different as evolving.

But next step or not, it is scary to put something out there that flies in the face of expectations – whether your own or of others. Each time I post, I hesitate and second-guess and question. What if no one understands? What if they don’t like it? Should I just return to what I know best?

I don’t have any answers and I’m not sure where this exploration is taking me. But, for now, I’m following where it may lead.

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)Layers-Palette

  • Mask the window, separating it from its background. Pull in the masked image to the background. Apply the mask. Transform and position the window.
  • Select the wildflowers along the front of the window, refining the selection with the “Refine Edge” feature. Create a mask for the window layer from the selection, fine-tuning as needed by painting on the mask.
  • To add a hazy glow, process the Orton Effect action on the combined image. Reduce the opacity of this group to 70%
  • Add the Storm Texture, blend mode = Hard Light

Below are the original images used to create this composite:

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on October 15, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Love that you’re taking risks…daring to grow and show your ever-evolving work…and most important – that you’re following your creative heart!!!

  2. Love this image and all your explorations. It’s so exciting to see the evolution and progressive. I seemed to have reached a bit of a plateau and I am loving what is unfolding here – gives me huge inspiration as I hope that my art will start to evolve again. Love the soft colours and the ‘floating frame’ effect. Great quote to accompany your image and words. Looking forward to seeing more. 🙂

  3. Don’t second guess yourself . . . it’s all part of your journey. Growth and change can have you second guessing yourself but I think that’s when you know you’re doing something right.

  4. I so appreciate the bravery it takes to overcome those inner ‘Doubting Thomases’, who only seem to get louder as the moment to press ‘publish’ draws near. You work always inspires me..both by its beauty and by the way you evolve it – by the risks you take. But, we ‘voices on the outside’..even so many of them, I know that, for whatever reason, they just can’t quite quiet that ‘inside voice’ that makes us doubt. Continue the battle, Brenda. You are doing amazing things!

  5. Oh I needed this reminder today! And I can only say that this is just a beautiful piece of artwork, stunning!

  6. I love where your journey is taking you! This images is magical! Such beautiful soft colors.

  7. Beautiful. This is just wonderful.

  8. I think that is an excellent quote. In anything it’s. Important to be comfortable with ourselves & not be constantly ‘hoping’ that people will like us or what we’re doing. I like what you’ve done here- it looks like a painting.

  9. “ethereal” is what came to mind when I viewed your image. It definitely has an other world quality to it. I love the soft colors and delicate texturing you used here.

  10. The quote raises this question for me: do I do my photography for myself or for others? I try to do it for myself, but know I’m influenced by trying to please others. I have the freedom to do as I please, since I don’t have to make money with photography.
    Go where you are led, Brenda. You will inspire others to do the same.
    I like this photo. Outstanding processing on your part. Lovely and soft.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

