The Art of Possibility

“Unleash your creative energy
and let it flow.
Relish the possibilities.”

Nita Leland

Windows, floating in space, drifting amongst the clouds. Each one open to myriad creative possibilities.

Pick one and go through – see what waits for you on the other side.

For there is wonder and magic and creative energy there.

Eliminate the walls. Let the clean air rush in.

+++

I have long been enamored with digital collage and composites. I greatly admire the work of Photoshop artists who create complex worlds – composed of hundreds of layers – seamlessly blending multiple images into intricate magical concoctions. Places where physical laws such as gravity have no sway. Places where down is up and left is right and anything can happen.

Inspired by those artists to create my own “otherworld”, I follow my heart toward new explorations.

Image from my new series, Window Dreams

Linking with the September edition of the Photo-Heart Connection, hosted by Kat Sloma

Posted on October 3, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Wow! What a perfect blend of your architectural images into the world of digital collage, creating a dreamscape all your own. I like this new direction of your work. It’s exciting and scary to follow your heart to new places, and it’s wonderful to see what’s coming out of this for you. Thank you so much for sharing in Exploring with a Camera!

  2. I’ve been loving this new direction of yours, surreal, magical and so beautiful. I want to learn more about digital collage but haven’t had the time to spend figuring it all out.

  3. On the edge of Possibility … this brave new world of digital collage … You are on your way! Nice work!

  4. OMG, this is amazing, Brenda! I love your explorations into this area, so different from your usual style. There is something so dreamy and surreal about this image – -it really does stimulate the right brain. Moe please!

  5. Loving your window series & particularly love this one in the clouds, magical!

  6. What a beautiful mix of your photoshop skills and your photography. And – I’m right there with you. Unleash your creativity and soar!!!

  7. What an amazing mix of clouds and hard architecture. It will be interesting to see where this exploration takes you…

  8. Brenda, I love where your creative spirit is leading you. These are beautiful!

  9. This is a little different look for you….unless of course, I’ve been too busy to visit and notice you drifting (pardon the pun) into another sphere.
    I like the mystery in this. To me it seems heavenly-as if when we get there it still isn’t easy and we still have to pick and choose or stay forever trapped by the inability to choose.
    I too admire the composites-and may opt to try them someday. I like doing layers, but they don’t look “real”. Maybe that’s the fantasy part.
    Hoping to be a bit more present this month and look forward to seeing more of your stuff.
    Do you suppose this is like “Let’s Make a Deal”? I’ll take what’s behind door number 3.

    • Susan – glad that I can still surprise by doing something a little different. Glad to have your blogging voice back. (And I used to love “Let’s Make a Deal” – there was always such anticipation to making the choice and seeing what was behind that door.)

  10. wow. this really moved me. my father is an architect, and this, somehow, feels like him. He’s so precise and creative. He leaves a bit of himself in everything he builds. And he’s shown us how to live our path – to search, walk, explore…dream. Thank you so very, very much for this gorgeous image.

    • Adrienne – thank you for sharing the associations of your father that this image brings to mind. I can’t think of a better compliment of an image, especially one that is so experimental in nature. To know that it evoked such an emotional response – I know that I am on the right track.

  11. It is like a dream and beautifully illustrates the art of possibility. Maybe that’s where you’re at right now – exploring possibilities.

  12. I have started from the most recent entry…and moved back in time to, now, this image. As someone wrote at the beginning of my journey backwards through these entries, ‘I love the direction your work is taking’!
    Yes! Yes! Yes!
    Magical and inviting, and and so provocative to the imagination in such beautiful ways. Love all of this new work, Brenda!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

