Hard Light Return

Oct-1

I admit to having a somewhat obsessive streak in my personality. When I discover a new technique or texture, I tend to use it over and over – delighting in whatever attracted me in the first place.

And so here we are again – “returning” (appropriately) to Kim’s Return texture and the Hard Light blend mode. Throwing in a layer of Scripted Autumn to celebrate the advent of my favorite season.

Maybe instead of obsession, I’ll call it research and development. Being completely thorough in my explorations.

Don’t be surprised if we return here again.

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Process the Coffeeshop Blog Vintagram action
  • Add the Return texture, blend mode = Hard Light
  • Add the Scripted Autumn texture, blend mode = Linear Burn
  • Add a levels adjustment to increase overall contrast

Below are the original image, after RAW processing, and the layers palette:

Layers-Palette Oct-1-Before

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on October 1, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. I totally understand your “obsession”. I think I do the same when I find something I like.

  2. More R&D please. I love the results. You know I have a thing about doors, and this one is especially appealing.

  3. LOL, research and development…love it, and I’m a big fan of hardlight – beautiful edit!

  4. Love this! Beautiful work. I’ve thought of you often over the past several weeks.

    I seem to be hooked on my iPhone at the present and just bought it a new lens…my husband doesn’t know.

    I hope the wedding was just lovely!

    • Suzette – thanks so much for your thoughts. I believe you are (or have been) on the road lately – I can’t wait to see the photographic results of your travels. Having seen the iPhone work of many photographers like yourself, I continue to be amazed and a little more than jealous at this new way of capturing images. The wedding was absolutely fantastic – my daughter and new son-in-law said it was a perfect day – what more could I have asked for? After all, that was my goal – to create a perfect memory for them both.

  5. Love your research and development! 🙂 Keep it coming!

  6. I think it’s always good to have a little project to be obsessed with, I like what you’ve done here.

  7. And thus you transformed your image from reality to mysticism. You are a magician with both camera and post-processing!

  8. Brenda, that’s a beautiful door. Do you know what’s behind it? It looks like one that Lisa Ahn could write a great story about.

    • Lee – I do know what is behind it – I took this image at the oldest cemetery in Canton – it is the door to a family tomb 🙂 And yes, since I am convinced Lisa could write an amazing fable regardless of the image, I’m sure her imagination could find a story here.

  9. That’s a true piece of art dear 🙂 Simply stunning!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

