Hard Light

Sept-17

In the application of textures during post-processing, my modus operandi is anything but subtle – I want to make sure the viewer recognizes that a texture has been applied.

Nine times out of ten, I utilize either the Multiply or Overlay blend mode, which results in a strong combination of texture and the underlying image. However, even though I have my favorites, I always run through every blend mode with each texture/image combination – searching for something unexpected.

Like this “Hard Light” example. Don’t you adore that moment when image and texture meld together into something magical?

I love that I can still be surprised – that undiscovered combinations still exist and that this creative process is anything but routine.

Texture Tuesday Processing (Photoshop CC)

  • Process Pioneer Woman Old West Action
  • Add a Color Lookup Adjustment – set toning to “Futuristic Bleak”
  • Add the Return texture, blend mode set to Hard Light

Below is the original image, after RAW processing and perspective distortion correction, and the Photoshop layers palette:

Layers-Palette Sept-17-Before

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on September 17, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. This turned out really wonderful! I love the gentle tones and the more exciting grainy texture. Thanks for sharing your steps.

  2. This combination really works. It’s a beautiful effect. I use Multiply a lot but shy away from Hard Light – I’ve never found the right photo to use it on. I’m definitely going to work on it a bit more now.

  3. Love this so much. I have my favourites too – but always like to scroll through all the options because sometimes something unexpected works. I’m intrigued by the colour/toning adjustment – haven’t done any of that yet. Something else to add to my list. 🙂

  4. Quite beautiful before and quite gorgeous after, a different feel and wonderful

  5. That sounds familiar. I have favorites too yet scroll through all the different options just to see.

  6. Very pretty, it reminds me of the old tapestries that I sometimes see in museums. Thanks for sharing your process!

  7. This processing gives your image a wonderful antique look, perfect pairing! I’ve been away from textures for months, don’t know why.
    Your commentary reminded me what fun it is to experiment.

  8. This is such a gorgeous and creative effect and result. The post-processing here truly recreated the image. Nice work!

  9. The texture gives the image a dreamy look. So different from the original image. The magic of textures!
    I, too, run through the various blend modes when applying textures, and just this morning used Pin Light, one I seldom use, as it created an unuusal effect I liked.

  10. you have created something magical here

  11. I think the reason you are still surprised is that you usually find some new technique to add to the mix–I’m pretty sure that’s the case for the color lookup, isn’t it?

I greatly appreciate your comments!

