The Eagle’s Lesson

Sept-3

Silently the eagle perches, determined and steadfast. His gaze never falters. In his stillness, he teaches.

I don’t know why some lessons take longer to absorb. The lesson: to slow down. To study one thing deeply.

Instead, too often, I find myself seeking the next photographic moment – the image to come, the one just out of reach. The photograph around the next corner, if only I hurry. That feeling of constantly being on the verge of missing something.

In fact, what I am missing is right in front of me.

What about this building, this view? What can I find if I simply stop and really look? If rather than skimming the surface and moving on, I hold still and look again?

On this day, on this photo walk, my subject was a single building – the historic Akron Post Office and Federal Building.

I fought the urge to head down the street after the first few frames. I stayed and kept looking.

I found the eagle – and more. I discovered, again, the value of stillness.

(Additional images from that day can be found  here and here and here and here).

Texture Tuesday Processing (PS CC)

Below is the original image, after RAW processing and perspective correction, and the Photoshop layers palette:

Sept-3-Before Layers-Palette
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on September 3, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. LOVE your processing, and the words about hurrying off to the next thing in photography. Quite often I find myself doing that. Great work!

  2. I love what you found in the stillness . . .

    I can so relate to that feeling like you’re missing the next thing but in our rush we can miss so much.

  3. Love your image and your words. I’m guilty of the same thing and constantly have to remind myself to stay in the moment – love that feeling of stillness if I can actually manage it! Beautiful processing.

  4. Love the composition of this image. So pleasing to the eye and dramatic. Great edit.

  5. I love your processing, emphasizing the antique ornamental eagle in contrast to the sleek lines of the windows. I checked out your other images too — you got some wonderful architectural shots that day. Your words resonated with me too — I’m constantly struggling with the urge to hurry, hurry.

  6. Lovely! I love how your processing made the image look older and deepened the colors. I like your reminder too – to stay in the moment and not hurry. Wonderful!

  7. This is beautiful, Brenda.
    You did such a fantastic job on the edit.
    I love the tones.

  8. Nicely done- its always goodto stop & be in the moment. Great shot here

  9. Beautiful image and words. The value of stillness…my eyes traveled round and round your eagle. You caused to be still within your image and notice so many details. Thank you for the reminder.

  10. What a wonderful ‘regal’ image. Love the processing and the symmetry. Great little detail! Great eye!

  11. Love the processing…and the stillness. So tempting to keep moving, but in the stillness, you have found and shared such beauty! As, Marcie says…’regal’ beauty!

  12. Great photo. I like the angle you chose, the eagle with the receeding lines above, the browns with the blue sky, the texture. Well put togethre.

  13. Your determination to study the details of your subject certainly paid off in this shot. I love the rich brown tones of the eagle and its perch against the reflected sky. Well done!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

