Wise Words Sunday


“It is better to err on the side of daring
than the side of caution.”

 Alvin Toffler

Posted on September 1, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Fabulous…I love all the shadow lines. If only I could believe the quote! :o)

  2. A touch of both….balance and perspective. My father says the only way to succeed in life is to take a risk. Meahwhile he’s a conservative. Jus’ sayin’.
    Love all these lines criss-crossing, the stripe of yellow and that uneven sign. I think the sign can’t even decide about the Toffer quote.

  3. Oooh I love this, gorgeous image. All those shadows, lines and the pop of yellow. Much like the lines I criss cross between daring and caution although I’m sure the scale is tipped towards the caution side. Will have to think about evening it out.

  4. I love the sense of mystery to this, Brenda.
    Great light too.
    Wishing you a wonderful day!

  5. Fantastic! I love the balance of yellow and those wonderful shadows. The side of me that always has to follow the rules would obey this sign, but the daring, adventuresome side of me would be sad at that decision!

  6. Always – be brave…but be careful!! What a perfect image to illustrate the very wise words…:-)

  7. Yes, it’s a challenge to know when to take the risk, and when to play it safe. I lean toward safety, but sometimes I surprise myself. What a fun image for this quote — I love all the contrasts and that yellow pop of color.

  8. great photo & true words!

  9. GREAT find. GREAT composition, Brenda! Wow! Wow! Love the yellow. Love the lines vertical and horizontal and the chain with the sign cutting through it all. A dear friend of mine taught me the expression, sometimes ‘you have to ask for forgiveness and not for permission.’ It was his way (one of his ways) of being daring…of breaking through a barrier. I’ve always remembered it. Thank you for the image and the reminder today…to dare!

  10. You create tension between the quote and the image. I agree with the quote, but the barrier in the image is one I would obey. Perhaps the tension is just in me.

  11. A gift of light, shadow, and insight, though I doubt I would take the advice the quote offers. I tend to be of a cautious nature, at least until I convince myself that the benefits outweigh the risk.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

