Wing-feather Fables: Fairy Lights

Fairy lights, a grasshopper invasion, gnomes in the roses.  With her trademark word-magic and wry humor, Lisa somehow knits these threads together, weaving another wondrous fable. Read on…

Fables-#33

I tried to summon them at midnight, then twilight, and finally at dawn. Nothing worked, even though I strung the lights exactly right, just as Paw-Paw showed me the week before he died. Still, the fairies didn’t come. Finally, in a fit of quirk and temper, I threw the switch at 2:13 on a Wednesday afternoon.

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

Posted on July 17, 2013, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. This is the best image of hanging lights I’ve seen! Beautifully processed too! I’ll read the story when we have Internet restored! Have a wonderful day!

    • Suzette – these lights hang across the street of the small art district here in downtown Canton. I am intrigued by their beauty and have attempted many times to capture them. This was the most successful of my many attempts – with some post-processing magic to enhance the sunset sky. Be sure to come back for the story – you never want to miss an opportunity to be enraptured by Lisa’s words.

  2. Great image, Brenda, and I loved the story!

  3. Beautiful fairy lights! The story made me smile, it reminded me of my uncle who always love to weave tall tales for us!

    • Cathy – it always amazes me how many voices reside inside Lisa’s head – how she can create a character and personality in so few words. I’m glad you enjoyed our latest fable collaboration.

  4. These fairy lights are stunning & a fun story- those fairies can be pretty scary!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

