Wise Words Sunday

 

“The vision must be followed by the venture.
It is not enough to stare up the steps –
we must step up the stairs.”

Vance Havner

 

Posted on July 7, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. O like this, words & image go perfectly together & what great words!

    • Leanne – another image taken at the Ohio State Reformatory. I love these stairs – the texture and the transition from dark to light as you move up to the door at the top. And the quote was one I had never come across before – I had to share it.

  2. Wonderful lighting in this image. The quote is perfect for the photo. Hmmmmmmmm………… Where will the stairs lead?
    I’m asking myself what the purpose of my photography is. What do I hope to achieve?

    • Anita – this was taken in the challenging lighting at the Reformatory – the steps led up to the chapel, which was filled with natural light. I’m glad this image and quote inspired you to think about your own work and what it means to you.

  3. Ooooo, I do love this photograph, Brenda, and what a perfect quote to go with it!

    • Thanks Lisa! My trip to the Ohio State Reformatory yielded many of my favorite photos from this past year – this was one of them.

  4. Love this! The well-worn staircase is beautiful! Great perspective!

    • Cathy – this shot, taken at the Ohio State Reformatory, was a technical challenge – the lighting was quite difficult, with the stairs in darkness and the door at the top flooded with natural light. This one took some post-processing. But I really liked the view of walking up those stairs toward the light.

  5. WOW!! I love this one, words and image. Such a story, lingering.

    • There were multiple images from my visit to the Reformatory that I considered for Wing-Feather Fables – this was one of them. It makes me curious to know where these steps would lead in your story.

  6. Perfect! I studied the image before I read your quote and wondered about the depth and width of the stairs as well as the harsh markings on the stairs and thought “oh, oh, this is a challenge…”. The quote is perfect for the image.

  7. Wow Brenda…great shot. I love all the gritty paint. The view at the top is fabulous! You couldn’t have put a better quote with the image…and what a challenge!

    • Suzette – this is an image from my visit to the Ohio State Reformatory – these stairs lead up to the prison chapel, which was filled with natural light. An obvious, yet beautiful, metaphor. It is easy to “stare up the steps” isn’t it? Harder to make the climb.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

