Shadow Dance

Shadow Dance

“Both light and shadow
are the dance of love.”

Rumi

++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

Have you joined in with this month’s Third Thursday Challenge?

There’s still time – the link will be open through the end of the month.

Show us your dance moves.

Posted on June 27, 2013, in Photography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. Oh, Brenda…I LOVE this!! Love the colour, and the layers, and the curves..and the lines, and the light and the shadows. It’s one of those images I could go back and look at again and again..and again. Just stunning. And, a perfect match to the quote. Hugs from Toronto!

    • Juli – your enthusiastic comments always brighten my day. I’m glad you liked this one – it was one of those moments when the sun was hitting the bicycle rack just so, creating multiple sets of shadows going in different directions and the concrete was wet, adding a sheen. All the ingredients coming together.

  2. Love the golden tones in this one, Brenda!

    • Thanks, Lisa. I love to shoot this tinted concrete, which is a burnt orange color. During the golden hour, it glows.

  3. Wait — how did you….? Oh, never mind. I don’t really need to know. I’ll just enjoy looking at it. This is gorgeous!

    • Lee – this image was created just at the right moment when the sun somehow created two sets of overlaying shadows from a bicycle rack. I’m glad it had you guessing. 🙂

  4. Beautiful golden glow! Love the shadows.

    • Thanks, Cathy! I love this tinted concrete – the orange color really glows during the golden evening hours.

  5. The quote is perfect for this image as well as for your overall photographic perspective…nice!

    • Thanks Wanda! I think this was one was taken from a “down-low” perspective – down on my knees I believe. Something I need to actively remind myself to do because it is so easy to take everything from a standing-eye-level perspective.

  6. Love these golden tones and the quote is perfect with it.

    • Thanks Becs! Shadows and light reflected from wet concrete – it was a good combination at the right time of the day 🙂

  7. That image positively glows — wonderful color and lines, Brenda! And I love the title for it too. Let’s dance. Happy weekend!

    • Gina – it is a combination of the wet orange-tinted concrete and the golden hour sun that combined to create that glow. I just happened to be there at the right place at the right time to capture it. Lucky me! 🙂

  8. Great eye!! So perfectly simple..and absolutely simply perfect. Happy dancing to you!!!

  9. A very pleasing abstract. You are a master at using shadows in your images. I image that when you take the photo, you already can see it in 2 dimensions.

    • Thanks, Anita! I am still working on honing my pre-visualization skills. There are still many times when I am surprised by what ends up being the best image of a particular photo shoot.

  10. I love the loops and lines, intersecting.

    • Lisa – I’m still not quite sure how these shadows – both generated from the same bicycle rack – managed to go in multiple directions, crisscrossing and interweaving like that. Sometimes you just accept the wonder.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

