Wing-Feather Fables: Cracked

Meet the Falducci twins – up to mischief of the apocalyptic kind. Lisa takes us into the world of the giants – they who keep the sun on its course.

Cracked

On the day the sun cracked down the middle, every giant knew at once that the Falducci twins were guilty. They’d been trouble since their birth, infamous for dropping comets in the Gobi (“at least it wasn’t Paris,” their mother always said) and for lightning wars across Alaska (“it could have been Detroit.”) Still, no one thought they’d go so far.

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

Posted on June 19, 2013, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Brenda I just love this image (one of my favs) and where Lisa took this fable. Such harmony in this duo-ship.

    • Kathryn – every time Lisa sends me a new fable, I am amazed at where her imagination takes her. I ask myself the same question – “how did she get there from here?” and then I shake my head in wonder. I am so very privileged to be the visual spark in this partnership.

  2. Fun story, and stunning image. I love the processing that really makes it look like an illustration in a book.

    • Thanks, Lee. This was taken on a college campus in Houston – who could resist a shining gold dome? And then, of course, Lisa turns it into the cracked sun, waiting for repairs. I’ll never tire of her flights of imagination.

  3. This is fantastic, Brenda, bot the image and the fable!

  4. What a charming story to go with your wonderful image. So imaginative and appropriate for the summer solstice!

    • Gina – I didn’t even notice that our story about the cracked sun would fall at the summer solstice! Thank goodness the Falducci twins have been good – here in our version of reality.

  5. Spectacular image and what a great tale to go with it! I have twin grandson’s and they can get into some pretty wild stuff together!

    • Cathy – so far, I have only one grandson – and he, by himself, is plenty to handle. I can imagine what twins would be like. Glad you enjoyed the latest fable!

  6. The story fit the image so well and, of course, any mother can understand the frustration of misbehaving children.

  7. Breathtaking! The image speaks to my soul. An amazing piece of art work. The gold dome sitting amid the gray-blue textured tones…exquisite! Beautiful!

    • Suzette – this dome resides on a college campus in Houston – we walked through campus to the metro rail station after visiting the Menil Collection – who could resist a golden dome? Houston has some fabulous museums if you ever make it down that way. I’m glad this image touched you.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

