Dancing Light

Dancing Light

Simply put, this image makes me happy.

There are all those skinny white lines – each jumping for joy, dancing for their own reflection.

As the viewer, you probably don’t know what it is you are looking at – but I hope it doesn’t really matter. What I hope is that you simply enjoy the staccato bursts of energy; the patterned repetition; the kinetic enthusiasm.

And that it makes you happy, too.

Because this is the image I needed to show you today. This abstract collection of lines – a message in dots and dashes – Morse code in light.

Now I’m off to decode that message – and determine what the universe may be whispering in my ear.

Linking with the Photo-Heart Connection, hosted by Kat Sloma

Posted on June 4, 2013, in Photography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 35 Comments.

  1. Crazy lines, all mixed together just “ordered” by the two strong diagonals. As if trying to put some order on them.
    Great shot, great reflection.

    • I’m not sure if those diagonal lines are winning the battle or not – it appears to be quite an undertaking to get those crazy lines under control 🙂

  2. I smiled as soon as I saw this image. You’re right it does look like they are dancing and I can feel the energy. Love it.

    • Kathyrn – Excellent – since putting a smile on your face is what I was going for 🙂 Now, if we can just imbue ourselves with some of that energy!

  3. Great happy dancing abstract image! Do I detect some bamboo in there? Love your post…

    • Sherry – I’m glad not to be the only one who finds this a happy, dancing image 🙂 And it DOES look like a field of dancing bamboo, doesn’t it? I like that thought (even though there is nothing actually organic in this shot)

  4. Perfect title! Says it all. No need to say what it is, because what it is is a lovely, happy, vibrant image of lines and light. That is makes you happy is most important.

    • Anita – this image does make me happy! And this particular photo walk was the first in a while where I felt really comfortable behind the camera again.

  5. The images is brilliant…in so many ways, but your words have me smiling today…”Because this is the image I needed to show you today. This abstract collection of lines – a message in dots and dashes – Morse code in light.” Morse code in light…amazing words. I love hearing words so beautifully put together. Your words have made me happy! Have a great day!

    Suz

    • Suzette – you don’t know how good that makes me feel. Words especially have been difficult to put together lately. Knowing that my image and the accompanying post put a smile on your face – well, I have reached my creative goals for the day. 🙂

  6. A wiggle and a giggle…that’s what I see! Love this, love your happy mood, and love how you made me smile!

    • Cathy – Oh, I like that – a wiggle and a giggle! You’ve put a smile on my face. I love passing the happy thoughts around.

  7. It’s doing the happy dance for sure! I have no idea what I’m looking at, except that there are reflections involved. And you know what? It doesn’t matter at all. It makes me happy too.

    • Lee – I’m so glad that the happiness of this image came through for you as well. And yes, there are most definitely reflections involved. 🙂

  8. Happy little dancing sticks! Light and shadows. Makes me smile, too. Thanks for sharing this month.

    • Michele – yes, those sticks are definitely doing the happy dance! Glad to have put a smile on your face today.

  9. YES – what a joyous…happy…image filled with dancing light. Terrific!!!

    • Marcie – thanks! sometimes we are lucky enough to simply capture the essence of happiness – especially when we need a dose of it.

  10. Fun lines and light.

  11. My first thought was ‘gosh I love that image’. I don’t know what I’m looking it – but it is how I image music would look if it was a picture. Fantastic photo.

    • Becs – Oh, I love that thought – capturing the essence of music in visual form. Thank you for sharing – it is so gratifying to learn what others see in my images.

  12. *imagine music would look…I should really check BEFORE I post!

  13. I’m not sure that this image has whispering in the background…it is vibrant, even in it’s BW. I have no idea what I’m looking at, and I like that. I see more the shapes and contrasts that way.
    Staccato-beautiful using the music reference, but I do know that this is not a piano with skinny keys.
    Triplicate. Very impressive.

    • Susan – you are right – it is definitely not a piano with skinny keys 🙂 I’m glad the “not-knowing” improves the visual experience.

  14. Fantastic picture Mom!! Joe and I both love the dancing lines 🙂
    as always, you are a talented photographer!

    • Thanks, Hannah! This image was taken at the Art Museum in Akron – all those windows at odd angles make for some interesting reflections.

  15. Light and shadow, reality and reflection–all playing nicely together. I can see why this made you happy.

    • Wanda – this was one of those images that I captured on a whim – wasn’t even sure that it would “work”. But it has since become one of my favorites from that photo-walk. All that happy, happy energy.

  16. I love this, Brenda. I don’t need to know what it is. I looked and looked and worked to decode the message it had for me too. I like your photograph, but it’s really your words that made me smile. Wonderful Photo-Heart Connection!

    • Thanks Kat as always for the opportunity to review my images and make that heart connection – in this case, a heart and smile connection!

  17. Gorgeous photo-heart connection. Indeed, those lines make me happy too

    • Zena – well, putting a smile on your face was definitely my goal with this image. I am happy to have accomplished it.

  18. I do love “the staccato bursts of energy; the patterned repetition; the kinetic enthusiasm.” Yeah!

    • Lisa – very occasionally, I manage to come up with a couple of good phrases — but I was definitely inspired by this manic reflection.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

