The Nature of Friendship

The Joining

The introvert and the extrovert.

On the surface, a friendship would seem unlikely. After all, they are so very different.

The one so straight-laced and buttoned-up; all verticals and horizontals, only a trio of simple bronze stars as decoration. Quiet, self-effacing and subtle.

The other – widely exuberant, with swirls and curlicues; florals, scrolls and checkerboards. Ostentatious and grand, with layer upon layer of decorative ornamentation. Shouting to the world, “look at me!”

And yet – here they stand – shoulder to shoulder, supporting one another. Facing the world together; celebrating and acknowledging their differences.

Knowing that, at their essential core, they are the same.

Texture Tuesday Processing

  • Process the Lovely and Ethereal action from Pioneer Woman Photography
  • Run my mid-tone contrast action to sharpen and enhance the textures
  • Add the 1402 texture, blend mode = Multiply
  • Add the TeaTime texture (from the Mini-May collection), blend mode = Multiply
  • Add the Stained Linen texture, blend mode = Multiply
  • Add a Levels adjustment to increase overall contrast and lighten the highlights

Below is the original image and the Photoshop layers palette:

Before ImageLayers-Palette

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking with Texture Tuesday, hosted by Kim Klassen

Posted on May 28, 2013, in Photoshop and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 22 Comments.

  1. Love the images and love your thoughts on introvert and extrovert. Lovely your architecture series.

    • Thanks, Barbara. I definitely fall into the introvert side of this equation. What I liked about this image was the way the two sides, so different, enhance each other.

  2. Love this little metaphorical dance between introvert and extrovert. I’d like to believe that one brings out the best in the other…and the other brings the best out in the one???

    • Marcie – me, too! That’s what I liked about this image – the interplay between the two very different sides – the contrast making each stronger than they would have been alone.

  3. I think introverts (I am one) and extroverts need each other for balance. And certainly the world needs both…also for balance. Neither is “better,” just different, and each is beautiful in its own way. Your image is a wonderful illustration of how we can appreciate and celebrate our differences.

    • Lee – Balance is the key ingredient, isn’t it? We each have our own unique strengths to offer and the world needs what we can each give.

  4. An amazing find! Each so beautiful in it’s on way! I love all the lines and textures, and of course, your processing!

    • Cathy – I love the building on the right, with all its over-the-top ornamentation and I have attempted to capture it many times. But it is this shot – and the contrast with its simpler neighbor – that I think really captures its beauty.

  5. Now, see? There you’ve done it! I love how you can look at this structure and “see” this balance between introvert and extrovert! I love the image and the feel of it as you have processed it. And your words are simply icing on the cake, to me.

    • Deb – it’s kind of an “in-place” diptych, isn’t it? I was simply struck by the contrast between the two buildings – there they are, sharing an adjoining wall – yet so different in outward appearance. And I’m always pleased to have my words by “the icing”.

  6. I like what you’ve done here… Love the idea of these opposites enhancing each other

    • Thanks, Leanne. I like how the simpler structure gives your eye a chance to rest before moving on to explore more of the bling of the extrovert – I think the combination makes each better in their own way.

  7. Love this image and your interpretation of its balance, the one enhancing the other and vice versa. Beautifully expressed in words and image.

    • Becs – it’s funny how you can walk by something so many times and then suddenly, a new framing possibility strikes you – that’s what happened here. I have taken numerous shots of both buildings – but it is the marriage of the two together that I think really works.

  8. And truly so beautiful together!
    Wonderful words for this fantastic image, Brenda.

    • Thanks Lisa! I fretted quite a bit about this post – couldn’t get the actual words to match up with the “brilliance” in my head – finally just let it go. So I greatly appreciate the comment. 🙂

  9. I love what you saw here, Brenda, and they do go so well together. As an introvert myself, I find that the majority of my closest friends are extroverts. We definitely need each other and each has their place.

    • Kim – yes, I count myself in the introvert column as well. Thank goodness for all the extroverts to balance things out.

  10. What a fabulous find…those two buildings side by side. I’m an introvert too and my closet friend is wildly crazy and a friend to all. I love her and miss her. She lives in Utah.

    The tones and detail in the image are beautiful…one couldn’t find two more complimenting structures.

    I think I’ll send my friend a note!

    :o)

    • Suzette – I can’t think of a better compliment than to know this image inspired you to connect with your friend. It is hard to be far from those we love. Wishing you a great week!

  11. I love the story you draw from this image. Brava!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

