Wing-Feather Fables: Caryatids in Rebellion

Per Wikipedia, a caryatid is a sculpted female figure which serves as an architectural support, taking the place of a column or a pillar. In her latest fable, Lisa asks the question: what happens when the supports rebel?  

  

Noah ran his finger across the grains of stone, the roughened salt and pepper texture. His father was an architect. Noah knew foundations. Just above the granite sat the pilasters, those half-columns wedded to the surface. They were part of the façade, supporting nothing, but their bottoms looked like feet, elephantine, enormous with the punch of something mighty. They gathered where the earth had split, where the girls and women vanished.

Read the rest of the story here.

Photograph by Brenda Gottsabend; Story by Lisa Ahn

Read more about Wing-Feather Fables here.

Posted on May 8, 2013, in Wing-Feather Fables and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Another amazing production from the Brenda-Lisa team! Both of you are so creative in your work — I hope you are looking for a publisher.

    • Gina – I say this every time a fable is published – I stand amazed at Lisa’s imagination and the worlds she creates in just a few sentences. I think we would both love to see Wing-Feather Fables in published form someday.

  2. This was a wonderful story. It amazes me how Lisa creates haunting images with her words and you with your camera. Amazing…both!

    • Suzette – one of the best days of my photography career was the day Lisa asked me to collaborate on Wing-Feather Fables. My awe at her talent grows with each story.

  3. Captivating story! How fun to be collaborating on this!

    • Deb – it is the highlight of my creative life – to witness the magic that Lisa creates, inspired by my images.

  4. Beautiful tones of B&W. Simple shapes. Lovely.

    • Anita – the toning on this image was one of those happy accidents – I was playing with a new PS adjustment and was immediately struck by the way this coloring enhanced the stonework. I love post-processing!

I greatly appreciate your comments!

