Wise Words Sunday

Doors of Perception

 

“There are things known
and there are things unknown,
and in between
are the doors of perception.”

Aldous Huxley

 

Posted on May 5, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. Another fantastic image. Love, love, love the colors–blue, green, blue-green, black and white. Strong lines, with that curve at the top.

    • Anita – this building (the National Football Hall of Fame) offers so many reflection opportunities – each time I go I find something new, depending upon the time of year, the time of day, the weather. A lesson in recognizing that the familiar can always be seen in new ways.

  2. I brought my husband in to see this image and I said, “How does she see this way?” I love the color and tone as well and how the revolving door becomes less and less visible in the image. The quote gave my husband and I a springboard to talk about some communication issues we’re having of late. Thank you and have a wonderful week ahead!

    xo

    • Suzette – I don’t know what to say – this is the first time a post generated positive marital discussion 🙂 And you know, of course, that I say the same things about your images, right? It’s funny how the things we see seem so obvious to us – we can’t understand why others find it amazing. Wishing you a great week as well!

  3. This makes me think of a piece of jewelry, set with emeralds and sapphires and aquamarines. Great quote, too! Food for thought….

    • Lee – Oooh – I like thinking of it that way, in those jewel-like tones, sparkling in the sun. One of my favorite color combinations.

  4. What a very cool effect…and the perfect quote to accompany. Yes – in between is the illusion of perception!!

    • Marcie – this was one of those “oh-my-gosh” moments when I realized what I was seeing – I was standing right up against the windows and the sunlight was hitting things just so and there was the entrance door, reflected again and again – like falling into an Alice-in-Wonderland world. I love photography!

  5. I love this Brenda, great colours & amazing reflections & lines – it’s really hard to work out just what it is. I love looking at it!

    • Leanne – one of my favorite things is creating images that make you wonder about what you are seeing, making you look twice, trying to figure it out – but in a good way. I’m glad this photograph accomplished that.

  6. Circular doors against straight lines-and the blues and greens. The pattern of the buildings almost looks like you composited this photo to look that way, but I know you didn’t Beautiful geometric composition. Is there anyway you can enter some of these entrancing images into a contest (where there are cash prizes?). Geez, awesome!

    • Susan – ah, gee! thanks for the wonderful compliment. I do enter the free contests at Viewbug when I have something that fits the contest topic. But otherwise, I just haven’t quite figured out how/where to get my work out there. Part of it is financial – not wanting to expend the cash on entering contests which have an entry fee or the expenses of printing/framing my work. And, I have to admit that it hasn’t been a major priority either. At this point, I’m still happy with doing this as a hobby, sharing it here. But I do greatly appreciate the encouragement.

  7. The fabulous colors in this make me think of the Emerald City in the Wizard of Oz! Beautiful, simply beautiful…

    • Deb – it does, doesn’t it? All I need is a yellow brick road and we could be off on an Oz-ian adventure.

  8. So very cool. What else can I say?

  9. The colors and composition are so terrific, Brenda! You always manage to find the amazing reflections and frame them so well. And a what a wonderful quote to go with this image. Brava!

    • Gina – this was one of those shots that surprised me – having been to this location so many times before, I couldn’t believe that I had missed that specific reflection on my previous visits. It was some magic of the time of day and the angle of the sun and my position – and there it was, just waiting for me to click the shutter.

  10. Fascinating! I seem to use that word a lot when describing your photos, but it’s true! I love the triangles of blue!

    • Cathy – that’s okay – I don’t mind being fascinating! 🙂 The entrance way of this building is a reflection-generator – covered with glass and sleek metal siding. One of my favorite subjects.

  11. I love the colors and the repetitions in this photograph. Marvelous! And the quote hits right to my heart, as always.

    • Lisa – this is one of those “secret” images – you didn’t see the repeated doors unless you stood in one very specific spot, right up next to the windows, at just the right angle. I love finding these hidden treasures.

  12. I’m bedazzled!…by the colors, the multiple images, your trademark shadows and geometry. Great shot!

    • Wanda – “Bedazzled!” – what a great word – I am picturing rhinestones and glitter and all things shiny 🙂

I greatly appreciate your comments!

