Wise Words Sunday

Light Beam

“What we see
depends mainly on
what we look for.”

John Lubbock

Have you joined the Third Thursday Challenge for April yet? Show us what you are looking for in your art and photography. The link will be open through the end of the month so you have plenty of time to join in. I look forward to your TTC posts – I learn so much from what you have to teach me.

Posted on April 21, 2013, in Wise Words Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I like how the light seems to come across in a diagonal from upper right to lower left. Gentle details. Excellent quote.
    Don’t know that I have anything new to contribute to Third Thursday Challenge, but will think about it.
    My new challenge this month was to give a talk at a camera club, and to get paid for it! 🙂

    • Anita – well, that is certainly a challenge – congratulations to you for taking on a speaking engagement. (And to get paid for it too – an extra benefit 🙂

  2. Wonderful lines and textures and light. Love the quote…and the perfectly simple composition.

    • Marcie – it is often the simple things that affect us the most, isn’t it? That single light beam crossing the glass – showing us that single moment, never to come again.

  3. I love the light and textures, the cracks in the bricks at the bottom. And a brilliant quotation — just what I needed today.

    • One of my favorite abandoned buildings – when the light is just right, these windows glow with an inner light that is breath-taking. In this image, it was that little slice of light beam that caught my eye.

  4. I love the light shining on this gorgeous textured glass. It looks like the glass on the right is a different pattern. I wonder if it was replaced sometime.

    • Cathy – this is an abandoned car dealership – and many of the window panes are cracked or broken with different glass patterns throughout. It makes for an interesting light puzzle when the sun is shining just so. While it makes me sad that this building is unused, it certainly makes for interesting photo opportunities with all the texture and urban decay.

  5. Great quote – and so, so true!

  6. I have fallen behind, and am catching up here, Brenda! I do love your windows! This one..for me, it’s about the softness of the light in window panes, in contrast to the hardness of the lines of the window frame. Wonderful find! (Again!:)

    • Juli – welcome back! I have missed your visits. For me, it was that little triangular slice of light in the bottom corner – that’s what caught my eye initially. But then, the internal glow from within – that sealed it.

I greatly appreciate your comments!

